ok then 32 or 64 bit? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2008, 05:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 31
Default ok then 32 or 64 bit?

I have just got a new computer and it has 4 GB of ram in it. So I was told I needed to get windows xp pro 64bit edition. So I went out and brought said os but now when I go to install my adobe CS3 Master CD it dose nothing also when I tried to install 3D Studio Max 2008 64 bit version the install kept failing. Please help. Cheers
__________________

Sneblot is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 05:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: ok then 32 or 64 bit?

Could it be that the applicaitons you are trying to run dont work on 64 Bit?

From Adobe's site:
Quote:
Microsoft® Windows® XP with Service Pack 2 or Windows Vista™ Home Premium, Business, Ultimate, or Enterprise (certified for 32-bit editions)
I do not see anywhere on there 64 Bit compatibility. That is the first issue.

Adobe - Error page

As for the failed install have you updated the system fully? What error code does it give?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 05:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: ok then 32 or 64 bit?

Adobe: No 64-bit Photoshop CS3 | Tech news blog - CNET News.com
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 05:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: ok then 32 or 64 bit?

it didnt give one it just tried to unpack the installer then just stops. Do I need to be running 64 bit or can I run 32 bit with 4 GB of RAM? But that still dosent give me a reason why my 3DSMax 64Bit edition didnt install?
Sneblot is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 07:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: ok then 32 or 64 bit?

I asked you why did it fail. It should have given you some kind of error code or a windows that you could get a detailed view from.

As for the 32 Bit 4GB fo RAM. No. 32 Bit can not handle 4 GB of RAM. This is a limit of the kernel. Only 3GB to 3.5GB will be recognized and utilized.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 03:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: ok then 32 or 64 bit?

Thats the thing it dosent give me an error code it just stops. When I try to install photoshop CS2 on the other hand that come up with an error 1719. I had alook on the support.mircosoft.com but I dont understand still what the problem is.
Sneblot is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 04:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: ok then 32 or 64 bit?

hmm I've always used 64 bit operating systems and have never encountered any problems running CS3 or any version of Photoshop
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 02:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: ok then 32 or 64 bit?

I looked up the problem and it says that it could be cause Im trying to install in safe mode which Im not or that my windows installer which is not installed correctly. If thats the case how could I of installed the games I have on there or do they use their own installer? If so how do I fix the problem? I have used this CD in another computer to check it wasnt the CD worked fine.
Sneblot is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 05:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: ok then 32 or 64 bit?

Have you checked for any updates?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 06:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: ok then 32 or 64 bit?

Yer I have to update my MSI. I cant do that at the moment as I am not connected to the internet on that computer. But I have searched microsoft support for the update I think I have it not sure.
__________________

Sneblot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I force a 32 bit driver to install on 64 bit Vista? Disillusion Microsoft Windows and Software 7 12-28-2007 05:52 PM
Bit torrents basic principal objecterror Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-15-2007 09:23 AM
64 bit vs. 32 bit Akumajin Microsoft Windows and Software 18 10-16-2007 11:00 PM
32 -> 64 bit. What kind of drivers are needed? pc_boy Microsoft Windows and Software 13 10-01-2007 04:30 PM
Windows XP 64 bit Ethereal_Dragon Microsoft Windows and Software 12 09-25-2007 03:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.