Ok now what - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2005, 05:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default Ok now what

I used Limewire to get my XP with crack and now all I do is what. Do I use my original copy or something what do i do?This is for my Laptop just don't want to spend 100.00 USD on XP

We do not support warez, cracks, serialz, or any other illegal softwares on TF. Please do not make requests for them on this forum. thread closed

ekÆsine
Tech Forums Super Moderator
__________________

GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 06:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You can install the same copy of xp on the laptop as well as having it on the pc.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 06:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

what about activation for the PC
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 06:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

It will work. But it may ask for you to call microsoft to activate, not really a big deal, just say you had to format due to a virus or something like that, and they will give you a new code.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 06:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

well, actually that depends if it's a cd from someone like Dell, Gateway, HP, etc then many times its on ONE system and ONLY one system. However, the retail version you can install on one desktop and one laptop and can transfer from one PC to the other as long as you uninstall from the original desktop
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 10:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

k well I made this computer so I'lll give it a shot
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 10:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

well I'm doign it now. Wish me luck fellas
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 11:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

yeah, most people don't know you are legally allowed to have a copy on a pc and a backup on a laptop.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 12:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Serious! Do you got any proof of this amazingly awsome comment?LOL! So if that was true can I have it on 2 desktops and etc.?
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 01:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
yeah, most people don't know you are legally allowed to have a copy on a pc and a backup on a laptop.
exactly like this
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.