Office Key? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2006, 05:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default Office Key?

No, not asking for one!

When I open it, all I get it a message saying I need a key. Don't I like not need it since it came pre-on the computer (computer bought brand new)?

I could be completely oblivious here, so hence the asking.
__________________

Jolinar is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 05:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

what's the computer brand. Sure it's not installed from a previous owner?

I would call your computer manufacture, I don't know if M$ will deal with this.
__________________

__________________

Law is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 05:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default

It is a Compaq. I am the only owner this computer has ever had.
Jolinar is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 05:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

Calling or contacting Compaq would almost be asinine (imo the worst customer service in the history of customer service).I would either contact the store that sold you the computer or contact Microsoft ( I think there phone support is free, not sure) and see if you could resolve it through one of them. If all else fails try to go through Compaq/HP maybe they have tweaked there customer service since i last encountered. On second thought did your computer come with some kind of recovery disk maybe you could do a repair install with that, or check your computer or your box the may have printed your cd key somewhere and its pending activation by you.
__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 06:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

sounds like he had the computer for a while and the 30 or 60 day activation period ended
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 12:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Default

Even if it came pre-installed you still need to activate it. The computer will have came with your Office licenese agreement and activation key. You will need to type that in. If you dont have it call Compaq, they should be able to look it up and provide you with a new one. But calling Compaq and getting an intelligent answer is usually a challenge. You may want to call Microsoft, they are usually more helpful, and can probably get you going again.
__________________
Joe
<a href=\"http://www.technogab.com\">Technogab Podcast</a>
<a href=\"http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewPodcast?id=196334747\">Subscribe via Itunes</a>
<a href=\"http://feeds.feedburner.com/technogab/feed\"><img src=\"http://feeds.feedburner.com/technogab/feed.gif\" style=\"border:0\" alt=\"TechnoGab Podcast\"/></a>
technogab is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 12:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to arcman
Default

Unless you purchased MS Office as a customized option that shows up on your invoice, I seriously doubt you have a full copy of Office. HP/Compaq loads a trial version of MSO, but that expires, and I think the only full word processing program they load on there is MS Works.
__________________

arcman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.