Office antipiracy - what do you pirates think? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2006, 03:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Office antipiracy - what do you pirates think?

honest non pirate folks can comment too!

Office antipiracy checks to become mandatory
http://www.computerworld.com/action/...=NLT_PM&nlid=8
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

They really should care about Office piracy.

Office costs from $100 - $500 depending on version.

XP costs way less, and they make you "activate" it.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 04:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

i'm wondering if they are just making it office 2k7 or applying it to some older ones.

I have 2 legit copies of office 2k3...but have only been using 1 key. hmm
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 04:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

It was bound to happen. Open Office is free atleast if M$ Office becomes too expensive for regular folks like myself
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 05:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
hdansjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

So will this effect those of us who have a version of Office, using the same product key, on three different home computers?
hdansjr is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 05:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

I have to go home ad read my eula...I forget how many installs they allow us. I just used 1 key cuz I was lazy.
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 07:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

I know the Student/Teacher edition allows up to three.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 11:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

I think the others technically only allow for one install, but it's like Windows XP, you can usually activate it a few times without any problems.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.