OEM or still stick with retail version of Windows Vista Ultimate? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2007, 09:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Unhappy OEM or still stick with retail version of Windows Vista Ultimate?

i just now purchased Windows Vista Ultimate (full version) n a Seagate 250GB HDD.

i was just thinking, the OEM version only allows one activation n retail infinite. I will not be upgrading my new mobo or RAM for a long time. However, i will upgrade from the 5000+ Black Edition i am getting to mostly likely 9900 or so n upgrade from my, already have, 9200 LE to an HD 3870 x2.

now after thinking this, does it matter if i change the graphics card n CPU n not have me require another activation, if i change now to OEM from Retail?

i need to know tonight. I am rebuilding my system from scratch, already ordered all the parts, but i need to know if i should go with OEM or stick with the retail i already ordered?

respond back plz! Hurry!
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 09:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: OEM or still stick with retail version of Windows Vista Ultimate?

I would go with OEM, as I have never heard of only one activation on any OEM software... I have OEM windows home that I have used on several of my computers here at home and never had a problem like that.

and no... hardware will not affect the activation at all.
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 09:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: OEM or still stick with retail version of Windows Vista Ultimate?

Retail does not have infinite activations it has 3 activations. OEM has 1.

This is a new think with Vista Nukem. They switched it from XP.

Yes it is hardware based. If you switch your mobo it will ask for activation. Most likely if you switch your CPU it will ask for activation as well. But you can switch out your hard drives, GPU, RAM and other things like that with no issue. It is only the CPU and Mobo that affects Vista widely.

I would say OEM. Just remember as long as you dont change the Mobo you are safe. If it asks for activation after switching the CPU you can call and get it reactivated legitly. But if you switch out the mobo you will have to lie to get it activated again.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 09:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: OEM or still stick with retail version of Windows Vista Ultimate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nukem View Post
I would go with OEM, as I have never heard of only one activation on any OEM software... I have OEM windows home that I have used on several of my computers here at home and never had a problem like that.

and no... hardware will not affect the activation at all.
Newegg.com - Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Ultimate for System Builders Single Pack DVD - OEM

Quote:
This OEM software is intended for system builders only and cannot be transferred to another PC once it is installed. The purchaser of this software is required to comply with the terms of the System Builder license, including the responsibility of providing all end user support for the software.
i dont have Adobe Reader on this computer, but what else do i do after i buy the OEM? It says there is a System Builders License. What is that about?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 09:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: OEM or still stick with retail version of Windows Vista Ultimate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Retail does not have infinite activations it has 3 activations. OEM has 1.

This is a new think with Vista Nukem. They switched it from XP.

Yes it is hardware based. If you switch your mobo it will ask for activation. Most likely if you switch your CPU it will ask for activation as well. But you can switch out your hard drives, GPU, RAM and other things like that with no issue. It is only the CPU and Mobo that affects Vista widely.

I would say OEM. Just remember as long as you dont change the Mobo you are safe. If it asks for activation after switching the CPU you can call and get it reactivated legitly. But if you switch out the mobo you will have to lie to get it activated again.
ok then ill cancel the order n reorder then. This means that i will have twice as much debt. Should i call Newegg n ask them how long it will be until they remove the debt from my credit card?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 09:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: OEM or still stick with retail version of Windows Vista Ultimate?

all that means is YOU are responsible for maintaining the system and not anyone else... and of course they are going to say you can't xfer anything to another computer... how would they make money that way! LOL

I wouldn't worry about it at all... you can download Adobe and anything else you need... most of that stuff is freeware from the various companies... (I.E. Shockwave, Flash player, Quicktime, Adobe, etc...)


Edit... OH! I did not know that about Vista... Then I stand corrected, thanks Mak
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 09:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: OEM or still stick with retail version of Windows Vista Ultimate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nukem View Post
all that means is YOU are responsible for maintaining the system and not anyone else... and of course they are going to say you can't xfer anything to another computer... how would they make money that way! LOL

I wouldn't worry about it at all... you can download Adobe and anything else you need... most of that stuff is freeware from the various companies... (I.E. Shockwave, Flash player, Quicktime, Adobe, etc...)


Edit... OH! I did not know that about Vista... Then I stand corrected, thanks Mak
lol not on this computer, no one knows the Administrator pass, so im using kids.

i just canceled my order n reordered for the OEM version n the HDD. Like i said for the post above, it will show that i have more debt to pay. How can i get the debt off my card for the first order i canceled? Or will it eventually disappear?

EDIT:

got an email back from Newegg. I guess they answered my question:

Quote:
We have granted your online request to cancel your recent order. Order 72194851 is now void. If your credit/debit card has already been charged, you will be refunded the full amount, including shipping and handling, in approximately 2-3 business days.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 10:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: OEM or still stick with retail version of Windows Vista Ultimate?

One more reason to stay XP! LOL
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 11:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OEM or still stick with retail version of Windows Vista Ultimate?

Just buy the oem version. If you have to activate with a new configuration you just call and tell them that whatever part you replaced died and had to be replaced.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 11:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: OEM or still stick with retail version of Windows Vista Ultimate?

There is a sticky up top that talks about recovering passwords.

But yes the OEM will be jsut fine. No need to go all out when it isnt needed. I have read and studied the Vista EULA for purposes just like this. If you dont plan on switching out hte mobo then by all measn get OEM. Even if you do there are ways around this as well. Cant talk about them as it is against rules.

But Activation is strictly hardware based. Vista and XP. The way it works is it takes a general snapshot. Menaing basically it takes your mobo info and CPU inro along with some stuff like # of HDD's, GPU or not sound card or not. Stupid stuff liek that. That way when you actiavte they can see if it violates what they have on record with that serial. Since the serial will be activcated for the first time this is the kind of info it will take.

Then on a re-isntall it will check this stuff again. Even if you switch GPU, Sound cards and everything but the mobo you have not violated the EULA and not gotten a new PC in the eyes of M$. Therefor you can get it reactivated by them legitly. XP was done close to this but with XP it hammers on you with CPU. Even though it shouldnt.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have Windows Vista Ultimate, what to do now? akasixcon Microsoft Windows and Software 7 11-04-2007 02:49 PM
Windows Vista Networking Question seanramdeo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-25-2007 07:11 AM
Anyone with Windows Vista Ultimate ? Amd2800 Microsoft Windows and Software 14 07-13-2007 08:25 PM
Vista activation problem Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 11 07-12-2007 04:01 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.