OEM question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2008, 04:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default OEM question...

I've got a "recovery" disk for xp from my old alienware computer. Can I use that to install XP on my new setup? I ask because when I try to do it, "I get a nvdata.sys cannot be found, install failed."

I assume I'm going to need to buy a new copy....correct?
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 04:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: OEM question...

Yea, you need to get a new copy. The alienware disc might have some files for that system that might conflict with a new build. You also need a new key. Just go buy a OEM $89 XP Home disc from Newegg.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 11:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default Re: OEM question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Yea, you need to get a new copy. The alienware disc might have some files for that system that might conflict with a new build. You also need a new key. Just go buy a OEM $89 XP Home disc from Newegg.

I've never bought an OEM install before. How's it all work?
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 12:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: OEM question...

OEM is just the CD without the shiny box. Everything else is the same. Some people say you can only activate it once, but I know you can call Microsoft to activate it unlimitedly.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 08:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: OEM question...

The recovery disk won't work without the recovery partition on your hard drive.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 08:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: OEM question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
OEM is just the CD without the shiny box. Everything else is the same. Some people say you can only activate it once, but I know you can call Microsoft to activate it unlimitedly.
That is for OEM Vista not OEM XP.
Quote:
Originally Posted by superdave1984 View Post
The recovery disk won't work without the recovery partition on your hard drive.
That is correct. That is why the Alienware disc did not work.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 09:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default Re: OEM question...

So, if I buy an OEM XP disk, I can only use it once?
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 10:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: OEM question...

No. You can use it all you want. But basically you can only use it to install on 1 machine. Since you will have to activate it and that activation will be tied to that machine.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 12:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: OEM question...

But you can buy more COA licenses and use that same disk with however many licenses you buy.
forrestcupp is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 01:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default Re: OEM question...

I've activated my media center OEM on 3 totally different PC's already.
__________________

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OEM or still stick with retail version of Windows Vista Ultimate? Wildside Microsoft Windows and Software 10 12-27-2007 12:30 AM
OEM? Please explain Aesrin Microsoft Windows and Software 4 10-07-2007 04:26 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
RAID question? Ice8168 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 07-20-2007 05:19 PM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.