odd problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2004, 09:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 12
Default odd problem

Computer with 2 HD's in it, one SATA 160 gig and one 40gig IDE in it. SATA has all the system files on it (OS XP home) and ide is just used for storage. In the bios, the boot sequence is 40gig ide, dvd drive, then floppy. But for awhile ive had this same setup and itll bootup fine to SATA eventually. Now when i take out the 40gig IDE it says NTLDR missing. How can i fix this or put ntldr on the sata somehow or anyway to make it boot without the 40gig IDE. Asus k8 deluxe mobo, halp!
__________________

SaosiN is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 09:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 24
Default

Doesn't your bios have an option to boot from SATA? If so, I would change the first option in the boot sequence to that, and leave out the IDE in the sequence.
__________________

rhinoman7 is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 09:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to b_young86 Send a message via Yahoo to b_young86
Default

Yea i agree, the bios should start with watever drive is the master.
__________________
Laptop:
AMD Athlon 64 bit 3000+
1.25 Gigs 2700 DDR
460 Gigs Hard Drive
1 - 15.4\"Widescreen LCD
1 - 17\" LCD

Phone:
HP iPAQ hw6515 with 1.5 Gigs of storage
b_young86 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.