Odd Excel problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2007, 05:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Odd Excel problem

One of our users has to do weekly updates to an Excel doc. She uses a saved Excel sheet that came from who knows where that had been formatted and has other sheets with graphs, etc. Anyway the problem is this Excel sheet lists procedures and things and they are counted and added numerically. When you open the sheet and view it, change data, etc, all is fine. Except that column A is missing. See pic.


But, when you print it, the numbers are off.

These numbers are fine until you print or preview the thing. Everything looks perfect, changes take effect, etc until you print. The printed copy has the number jump, but the actual sheet doesn't. I have tried unhiding, undo format, and everything I can think of. I even consulted a guy that teaches an Excel class and he couldn't figure it out. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 06:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

You have hidden columns and rows.

Click on the gray box in the very upper left corner of the spreadsheet (above 1 and to the left of b) to select everything. Then right click the grey box and click unhide.

You should see everything now.
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 09:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Unhide isn't there as an option. It is for the individual rows and columns, but not the "select everything" box. And unhiding the individual rows and columns does nothing. There isn't a password or any locks on the thing either.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 06:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 40
Default

If you click on the upper most grey box as "bla!! says and then right click on column B you should see the option for unhide. If not then I can only suggest that there is some kind of protection on the Excel spreadsheet. Does it do for others? or just this one?
Try going to protection under the tools heading. if it says unprotect sheet then this may be your problem. There may be locked cells that cannot be unhiden. if so try unprotect sheet / workbook. Also check File - permission, this should be set to unrestricted access.
__________________
Fear leads to anger ... Anger leads to stress ... Stress leads to doobies ... and doobies lead to twinkies
Leady4 is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 05:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 49
Default

it's either hidden or (I'm not trying to be a jerk here but...) the scroll bar isn't all the way to the left.
starkmann is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 07:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Format menu > column > Unhide

Might work (assuming you have a hidden column here), sometimes the unhide option doesn't appear on the context menu for some reason.

As for the printing anomalies I imagine there are defined print areas or page breaks.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 09:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Leady4: no unprotect option, only protect. This would mean it is not protected at all. Also, it says unrestricted access.

Mr. Coffee: not there. I can't figure it out. Unless the creator of the sheet deleted something during the process and didn't make corrections. All the data prints correctly, just the numbers are wrong. This makes the person managing the data have to actually count the number of procedures instead of looking at the bottom number on the sheet.

Edit: I am giving up on figuring this one out. I have evn tried to find the original creator of the thing and it turns out it was originally created in 2001 and the company the person worked for was being investigated for fraud to the tune of $1.3 billion. Doesn't help me, but it does make it funny.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 10:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 49
Default

you could insert a colum, have that column give you the correct numbers and just select the print area

or

put a field at the bottom with the count function, that would solve the wrong number thing
starkmann is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 10:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

My wife is an Excel wizard. She said if you sent her a copy, she'd play with it until she figure it out. However, I doubt that you could do that.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 157
Default

I would try copying all the data in to a fresh spreadhseet and saving that. The assumption being the file is somehow corupted.
__________________

__________________
Eagles can soar but weasles don\'t get sucked in to jet engines
RyanS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.