;o( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2004, 04:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 29
Send a message via AIM to girly Send a message via Yahoo to girly
Default ;o(

remote assistance is bad once you use it and let someone in, they get your ip and can get in at any time as long as your computer has it open, make sure its off, i had this prob turns out someone was watching me in the dark on my cam until all of a sudden i saw it on my screen.
__________________

girly is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 11:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Remote Administrator works just as good as Remote Assistance. And there is an option is ask permission before allowing the remote user in. If, after a set amount of time (10 seconds or so) you don't answer, you can have it default to allow or not allow access. Only $30 for a license!

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 11:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Default Is this a topic ?

;o)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg logo4ppl1.jpg (10.0 KB, 24 views)
stan-the-man is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 12:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

girly i don't understand how the person was able to log into your computer. actually i find it impossible they did this to you using remote assist. they would need not only the external address, but also they would have to know your username and pass. and as a second layer of security the intruder would have to wait for you to accept his request to take control of your computer.

are you sure this wasn't someone in your family (who knows your user & pass) playing a trick on you? the only way to do what you say is through remote desktop, which still requires knowledge of your winXP pro username & pass. also remote desktop is not enabled by default.

i think nobody was "hacking" you, maybe you left your webcam on. microsoft would not be stupid enough to leave a security hole this big on winXP, cmon now
ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.