Nvidia Geforce 7300GS Trouble... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2006, 08:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Default Nvidia Geforce 7300GS Trouble...

Hi,

My friend recently had to reinstall windows - completely reformatting the hard disk. Ive managed to get it up and running again, but getting drives for his Geforce 7300GS is proving a problem.

He's running XP media centre edition - so im getting 91.47 forceware through nvidia.com, but while its unpacking itself it comes up with :

"The contents of this file cannot be unpacked. The executable you are attempting to run has been corrupted. Please obtain another copy of the file and verify its integrity. and try again."

Tried to get another copy - but most sites lead to the 91.47 model....which says the same thing

Can anyone help ?

Thanks !
__________________

criss is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 09:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

could be he hasn't got enough space on his drive try clearing some space download Ccleaner its in my sig and run it it`ll clean out the temp folder might work.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 09:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

He just reformatted, I don't think it's a space issue.

Delete the file you downloaded, then delete your browser's cache and history. Then try downloading again. Might work.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 09:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Doh! god dont know where my brain is today have you tried downloading older drivers? ur using a different browser?
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 10:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Hehe, thanks for the info. Right, cleared out web cache/ history / temp internet files etc, still the same problem - downloading it thru IE + FireFox.

Ive started the hunt for older drivers...but having no luck at the moment - do any of you guys know when one is of that particular version ?

Thanks for all the prompt help
criss is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 10:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

only found the archive on the Nvidia site:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp-2k_archive.html

what service pack does he have? has he downloaded all the updates?
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 10:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks,

I completely forgot about updating his bloody computer ! ( apparently its one of *those* days eh lol )

Will post if that dosent solve it...duhhh lol

criss is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 10:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Right..

Computer is updated completely - tried downloading the 91.47, an older version and another random one.

All 3 , downloaded twice each on the 2 diff browsers ( firefox + IE ) come up with that same corrupt message.

Any ideas ?
criss is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 10:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

What motherboard does he have? it could be an Nvidia chipset driver problem, have you updated it? or installed the nvidia firewall? as that can cause problems..

also check in firefox or IE for any cookies getting blocked in the settings, and allow them or put the nvidia site in the exceptions list and choose allow.

also check any firewall installed and if nvidia site or the file is blocked and allow it.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.