NTLDR/Parrtition Magic Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2004, 07:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6
Unhappy NTLDR/Parrtition Magic Error

I erased a partition in Win XP , then reboot (Partition Magic) now when I start XP i get the error , NTLDR Not found or something like that. I currentl dont have a working cd rom drive and cannot use my windows xp. I tried booting into dos using the windows me boot disk and it wont recognize the partition (its NTFS) how can i go about resolving this?

thanks alot

ps - luckily i had mandrake 10 on a seperate partition
__________________

theusualfate is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 08:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Hi, I saw that error when XP does not find some system files...
the most of case I have to do full restore.... So if you can access your data usind different O/S, do data backup and restore later
__________________

Gabino is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 10:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

U need a CD rom, then do a quick repair, all will be fine, and ntldr which tells the computer what to boot will be replaced. You need a cheap cd, they are only about 20 quid.
__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 11:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

You can get around this if you have a floppy and a second computer. The problem is that the NTLDR is the file needed to actually enable the NTFS environment.
I can't recall all of the files at the moment that you need but a few of them are NTLDR and NTDETECT.com. I think you also need a functioning Boot.ini and I think there is one other file.
I'll see if I can find it.
Anyway, if you XP installation is still present, then this will allow you to boot them machine off of the floppy. It's pretty cool.
Inaris is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 11:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 185
Default

If your CD ROM is not working, go to www.microsoft.com or www.bootdisk.com and you can make get XP boot disk on something like 6 floppy disks.
__________________
\"The surest way to corrupt a youth is to instruct him to hold in higher esteem those who think alike than those who think differently.\" Friedrich Nietzsche
cajun33 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.