ntldr is missing. starting to get mad - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2003, 01:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 25
Angry ntldr is missing. starting to get mad

I keep getting the ntldr is missing. I have been trying to delete my HD but cant get anything to load from cd or floppy. ............................Need HElp any Ideas?
__________________

Sytech is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 01:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

are you using a boot disk, if so, try making another one. Make sure your bios is set to boot from the specific device that you want to boot from.
__________________

ADZ is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 02:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 25
Default

I was installing a fresh install of 2000pro on a newly partioned wd120, half way through it crashed.. ever since I am getting the ntldr is missing screen I dont have a boot disk. And I cant get any thing to load from my cd. I have tried downloading tools and formatting utillities I cant get any thing to work. What should I try next? I have put alot of money into it and would love to use it.


Betty

Aspire case
P4 2.4
Gigabyte 8kynp
Ati 9800xt
2 wd120
2 Gb 3200 ddr
2 18 flat
sound audigy
inspire 7.1

There is a huge puddle of drool that is right in front of my computer that I have been working in, maybe that shorted it out............Kidding...anyways, any direction would be great. THanks
Sytech is offline  
Old 12-21-2003, 12:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Hi try this for info might help.
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000465.htm
Later Splat
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-21-2003, 11:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 26
Default

NTDLR is a standard root file that is in the c: or root directory if it is not there your PC will not boot. My suggestion would be if you have maybe another drive with this file on it copy it onto a floppy disk boot from the drive you copied it off of as c: and the new drive that won't boot as a slave D: drive and stick in your disk into a: and copy the NTLDR into the D: drive root directory. If you don't have this file I can email it to you if you have a bootable PC that you can access the Internet. You sure have a nice set up there you should be screaming when you get going.
MrBillPro is offline  
Old 12-21-2003, 11:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 26
Default

Or just copy that file right out of the bootable drive root directory into the d: drive root directory
MrBillPro is offline  
Old 12-22-2003, 02:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 25
Default

thanks I got some boot disks from www.bootdisk.com
And it is screamin thanks
__________________

Sytech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.