NTLDR MISSING, need some quick help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2005, 05:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

Eric is most likely correct. If NTLDR is missing, then more than likely the rest of the OS (kernel, etc) is missing as well.
__________________

__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 05:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

thanks man
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 05:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

ignore me. it's been a bad 24hrs for me.

let try to find out why it is missing.

what exactly did you do beore you got that error. did you mess with your ide master/slave setting on your hard drive?
did you mess with your bios?
Do you have sata or raid drives?
did you mess with your boot.ini file?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 06:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

doesn't matter anymore.

With those floppies he can enter the recovery console.

When working on a SCSI computer with Win2K the file was missing but the entire OS was not. A simple recovery worked fine.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 12:00 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

85% of the time the OS does not need to be re-installed simply replacing the NTLDR, ntdetect.com, boot.ini. Most of the time simply the first two work for me, but others the boot.ini got whacked out with bogus info. I would however agree with EricB that something has gone south and usually even if I get the machine to boot when replacing the said missing files I always run a repair on the OS.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 03:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 42
Default

I to would reinstall windows, however you could more than likely replace only that file if you needed to move some data off of your machine before you wiped it. Or just put your hard drive in a different machine.Here are some instructions.

If your computer is using Microsoft Windows 2000 and you are encountering the NTLDR error. Create the below boot.ini file on the floppy diskette drive.

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT="Microso ft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect

Copy the NTLDR and NTDETECT.COM files from another computer using the same Operating System. Both of these files are located in the root directory of the primary hard disk drive. For example C:\NTLDR and C:\NTDETECT.COM should be the locations of these files on many computers.

Please keep in mind that these files are hidden system files, if you need additional help with viewing hidden files in Windows please see document CH000516.
Once these files have been copied to a floppy diskette reboot the computer and copy the NTLDR and NTDETECT.COM files to the root directory of the primary hard disk drive. Below is an example of what commonly should be performed from the A:\> drive.

copy ntldr c:
copy ntdetect.com c:

After the above two files have been copied, remove the floppy diskette and reboot the computer.
__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate
Koolance Case
ASUS PCDL Motherboard
Dual Thermaltake Aquarius III
Dual Xeons 3.06 oc\'d to 3.38
2GB Kingston Hyper X
2 120gb HDD
geforce 5200 256
Dual Monitors
Dual DVD burners
pinkfloyd2005 is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 04:10 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Sounds like you dorked around with your boot file and now yer toasted.

Just grab a set of boot disks and you should be fine. One thing you can also try is getting a copy of a boot.ini file, and copy it into the system.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 04:22 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10
Default

I definitely wouldn't re-install unless the other options don't work first. If the NTLDR is all that is missing, use the 4 boot CD's and the Recovery console and you should be back up and running. If the links to the boot cd's don't work, they are on MS's TechNet site as well. Should be 4 disks total, or 6 for XP.
thewibb is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 04:49 PM   #19 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you can also check your bios boot order. make sure it is boot to the right hdd. this usually shows up when you are dealing with both sata and ide drives and the sata is the first boot drive. messing with the bios will default it to the ide drive.

see if the master slave pins are set correctly on your hdd.

these will also make the ntldr error come up. use the above tools will not fix in this scenario either. you just need to fix the boot order or fix the pins.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 08:10 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

You bastards cursed me! I turned on my home PC this morning and recieved this message as well!! LOL..aghh well it was time for thee good ole ghost a new image and be like brand new time I think it was all the damn yahoo games
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.