NTLDR is missing.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2005, 12:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Unhappy NTLDR is missing....

i changed a fan and had to unplug my slave hard drive because it was on the same power connector (the fan had a splitter so you don't waste a power connector)
i started the computer b ack up, everything was fine, hard drives were deceted/cd rom....i get to the verify DMI pool....and....

NTLDR is missing
press any key to restart

last time this came up i had to format......
__________________

CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 12:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

that mean no OS found
__________________

EricB is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 12:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

so is this recoverble?? i've got 2000 pro
CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 12:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

if that hard drive was your slave drive, them you probably have a jumper setting wrong or something unpluged, because the master drive is your OS
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 12:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

i dunno..wheni boot up, all the hard drives and cd rom are reconized and in the right ide cable hook up.

*shrugs*
i was told i can just reinstall window's...so tha's probalby what i 'll end up doing...i mustof had got a virus that deletes it or something.


thanks for the help
CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 12:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

no prob... sorry
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 12:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

meh...not your fault that my computer is dumb.


runs for a reeeal long time with no problems at all..then i do one little thing to it in order to help it out and it does this to me....lol
CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 03:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Try fiddling with the hard disk acces mode in bios. This ihas happened to me using Win 2000 pro. The access mode in bios being wrong can cause heaps of problems. Usually you set it to LBA.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 08:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

this happens usually because the boot.ini is corrupt or missing
if you have a friend with an OS that can read NTFS, take your hard drive to his house, put it in his computer, and create a text file called 'boot' into the root directory of your drive
put this into it:

[boot loader]
timeout=10
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\your windows folder
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\your windows folder="Microsoft Windows 2000 Proffessional" /fastdetect

click file, save as, select "all files" in the list and add .ini to the end of the file name

then take your hard drive back to your PC
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 08:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Also you would use Notepad for what apokalipse said
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.