NTL Problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2005, 01:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I didnt know you can change your mac address? Are you sure thats what you did? Which device did you change it on and where did you get the new one from? How did the old one get there?

Check this out, I went looking

http://www.sdadapters.com/
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 01:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

You can't get a new MAC address.

Whatever he did it wasn't that.

Each NIC card has its on unique MAC address that is Physical Burned into the card, its not software therefore it can't be changed.

You will have to buy a router, to connect 2 computers to one out going internet connection, there is no other way.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 01:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

No u can ..just use DCHPFORCE
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 02:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Amd2800
No u can ..just use DCHPFORCE
An alternate method employs dhcpforce. By flooding a modem with faked DHCP packets (which contain configuration filename, TFTP IP, etc), one can convince the modem to accept any desired config file, even on one's own server (provided the server is routed, of course).

DCHPFORCe has nothing to do with a mac address, all your doing is getting a new ip address

The DHCP server sends a unicast FORCERENEW message to the client.
Upon receipt of the unicast FORCERENEW message, the client will
change its state to the RENEW state, and will then try to renew its
lease according to normal DHCP procedures. If the server wants to
assign a new IP address to the client, it will reply to the DHCP
REQUEST with a DHCP NAK. The client will then go back to the init
state and broadcast a DHCP DISCOVER message. The server can now
assign a new IP address to the client by replying with a DHCP OFFER.
If the FORCERENEW message is lost, the DHCP server will not receive a
DHCP REQUEST from the client and it should retransmit the FORCERENEW
message using an exponential backoff algorithm. Depending on the
bandwidth of the network between server and client, the server should
choose a delay. This delay grows exponentially as retransmissions
fail. The amount of retransmissions should be limited.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 03:21 PM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

he is some kind of miracle worker. that won't work unless he has internet by somebody like wide open west (WOW) who carry 3 ip's so that you have two for backup, in case one fails. almost everybody else carry only 1 ip because it is cheaper ands works most of the time.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 03:28 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

post a pic of how you did it
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 04:08 PM   #17 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

what kind of internet do you have? if it's phoneline that trick also might work on the second call waiting line
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 03:08 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

its cable modem s
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.