NTFS Partition - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2005, 03:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 69
Default NTFS Partition

I have a PC with Windows 2K AS. What's the easiest way to format an NTFS partition ? I wanted to Redo the partitions on the HD and need to FDISK and Reformat.

Thanks, Ray
__________________

daddy_ray is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 03:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

I don't know about win 2000, but with XP, when you boot from the XP disk, if you choose to format, it asks you if you want NTFS or FAT32
__________________

dnoch is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 04:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

same in Win2k. As long as you don't want to keep anything, just boot to disk, delete the old partition, and create a new one formatted with NTFS.
Inaris is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 69
Default

yeah, I cant remember but I think there is a utility within Win2K that will allow you to. I just would like to know my options.
daddy_ray is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 04:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

what do you mean. Are you looking to do a fresh install or work on a drive from the machine? if on the machine, run diskmgr.msc and then format the drive from there. It's a simple little wizard, so it's pretty painless.
Inaris is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 05:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 69
Default

yes, thats the one. I knew it existed but i couldnt remember what it was called. I am not sure if I want to do a fresh install or not, thats why I was trying to figure out all my options. thanks
daddy_ray is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 12:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Cant you convert the disk within windows to ntfs thru the command prompt?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 02:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Yes, but you can also do it from the GUI. Unless it's your Primary drive. Then you have to use the recovery console to do it.
Inaris is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 07:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

If it is a fresh install you can set up partitions and NTFS format form windows setup. If you want to change partitions form FAT 32 to NTFS wihtout doing a fresh install you can accomplih this very simply by using Partition Magic.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.