NTFS for 40gb hd?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2005, 11:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 83
Default NTFS for 40gb hd??

what is better, NTFS or FAT32 for a 40gb on xp??
__________________

__________________
Pentium 4 3.0Ghz, 1Gb pc3200
BFG 6800gt, samsung 19\"
Audigy 2 ZS, TruePower 550 watt
160Gb SATA

3Dmark05 - 4750, Aquamark3 - 59 200
crow0021 is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 11:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Default

Why having xp if you don't use the NTFS ?

I think it's better in NTFS it's more secure
__________________

Aleksander is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 12:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

I have always used NTFS since windows xp seems fine to me, there isn't much difference.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 05:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I would use NTFS, it has built-in security and manages hard drive space a bit better.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 05:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Use NTFS. You cannot format 40GB with XP or XP setup. NTFS will also perform better on 40GB. You can use a third party partitioning program if you want to format the 40GB disk using FAT32.

>Partition Magic is good.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 07:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

not to mention the 4gig limit on a file with fat32, meaning you couldn't put uncompressed movies on fat32
EricB is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 07:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

That's true. A 30minute DV movie would not fit.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 01:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

ive used NTFS with Win XP on a 10gb HDD and it worked fine.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 07:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Default

Well actually the 4gb limit is for fat16, fat32 was optimized to accept just about any size.

NTFS is definitly the filesystem you want though.
__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 08:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mdshort
Well actually the 4gb limit is for fat16, fat32 was optimized to accept just about any size.

NTFS is definitly the filesystem you want though.
???

When I was first burning dvds about 4-5 years ago, I couldn't rip it as a single file in fat32 if it was a long movie. Back then we use to rip the dvd as a single file convert to avi and then shrink it, convert it to mpeg, then burn it as dvd or vcd.

you couldn't rip movies that were longer than 120 minutes back then
because of this limitation. that was why I bought xp when it first came out. most people were shying away from it at that time because it was buggy as heck. but you could rip long movies with it

eventually they would come out with software that could rip the dvd in it original 1024mb chunks and burn those vob files properly, but back then they didn't have that
__________________

EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.