nt backup scheduled job could not find media - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2006, 03:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 228
Send a message via ICQ to selina Send a message via Yahoo to selina
Default nt backup scheduled job could not find media

I'm having to run NTBackup on 3 of my servers here that are on Win 2000 server SP4. But when I have a scheduled job run, it always fails. with the following message in the log:

Backup Status
The operation was not performed because the specific media cannot be found.

But if i run a backup manually using the same media, then, it runs.

Why is this?
and how do i fix this?
__________________

selina is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 03:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

what media?

update drivers
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 03:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

http://support.microsoft.com/default...;EN-US;q239892

Quote:

Note If you are trying to schedule a repeating backup to a single tape device using the /p switch, you may see one of the following errors in the backup report:

• The operation was not performed because no unused media was available.
-or-
• Operation was not performed, because the specified media cannot be found.
To prevent these errors, use the /um unmanaged method switch.

Note When you use the /um switch, we recommend that you do not use the /n switch to label the media. Instead, permit backup to use the default date/time as the label name and description. This eliminates multiple tapes having the same label name that may cause RSM to ask for a manual tape mount and prevent backup from continuing/completing unattended. If you want to re-use the same tape for a scheduled incremental backup by appending to the same tape, you should use the "managed method" described above instead of using the /um switch.
office politics is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 05:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 228
Send a message via ICQ to selina Send a message via Yahoo to selina
Default

it's a network media.
i looked into permission settings. the account taht i use to run the ntback wasn't in the permission settings so i added it.
hopefully this was the cuase of the problem....

i doubted it because when i run it manually, it doesn't give me the error and runs the backup as it's supposed to. if it was really the premission problem, it should give me an error, right?
selina is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 09:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

i would think you'd see access denied, but who knows.
office politics is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.