Nt Authority\system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2004, 06:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
Default Nt Authority\system

I REALLY need help with this - It shuts down my computer all the time and it said system shutdown and its caused by NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM or something i cant even go on my computer more then 20 minutes since shuts down all the time plz help.

Thank you!


regards,
Tipsi
__________________

Tipsi is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 07:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Can you please post what operating system you have and as much as you can about your hardware?

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 07:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Sounds like you got the MSblaster worm AKA Lovsan.

You can read about how to get rid of it, and how to stop your computer from shutting down while you rid yourself of the worm, here:

http://securityresponse.symantec.com...oval.tool.html
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 07:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

It indeed is the blaster worm. I have a friend that was affected by it the day before the antivirus people got a patch written. It sucks.
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 02:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 204
Default

Take the following steps
1. If u r connected to the computer using cable, disconnected it from the back of the computer.
2. Click on start, run, type services.msc, click on OK.
3. In the list of local services that comes up, look for RPC (remote procedure call).
4. Double click on the RPC service, click on the tab that says "recovery".
5. Change the options that say "restart the computer" to "take no action".
6. Click on apply, then ok.
7. Now connect to the internet.
8. Download the stinger removal tool from
http://vil.nai.com/vil/stinger/
and the KB823980 windows patch from
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
9. Disconnect from the internet, then run stinger to remove the virus, then install the MS patch.
10. Restart the computer.
__________________
One disk to rule them all,
One disk to bind them,
One disk to hold the files
And in the darkness grind \'em.
maverick_teck is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 10:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
Default

Thank You very much guys for your hard work and quick reply! you were very helpful!


regards,
Tipsi
Tipsi is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 09:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

here are the possibilities>
1. MS Blaster Fix = Get the Patch
2. Overheating Fix = Lower the temp
3. Spyware fix = Fix use a spyware remover
4. Hardware incompatability
__________________

__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.