now having problems with excel and quicken files - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2008, 02:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default now having problems with excel and quicken files

Now I am having problems with my Microsoft Office files. I backed up all my Office files, word and excel, onto a cd and put them on my Vista machine. I installed Office 2000 and it will not open them. It says it is in a recognizable format. Is this because Office is an older version or is it because it came from a computer with Windows XP? Will I have to buy a newer version of Office?

Also, I am having trouble with my quicken file. I did the same thing as I did with my Office files, I backed them up on a cd and installed on my Vista computer. When I try to open the file, it says Quicken can't validate the file, can't open the file because it is damaged. I am using Quicken 2007. Will I need to buy Quicken 2008?

Man, I am going to have to spend a fortune in software.

BTW, If anybody is curious, I got internet working on the Vista machine That is what I am on now. I bought a Linksys PCI adapter.

Man, I am going to have to spend a fortune in software.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 04:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: now having problems with excel and quicken files

Did you copy them over correctly onto your CD? If you used the built in Windows CD burner utility, then chances are it just didn't work right... which happens all the time. If you haven't already erased them off the old machine, I would recommend just using a USB flash drive to move them over. You can get a 4-8GB one for pretty cheap these days. Or if you don't want to do that, I recommend you download and use some CD burning software other than the built-in Windows one.

Let me know what you did to copy them to the CD's.

If you have already erased the originals on the machine, put the CD in to your Vista machine, and open the windows explorer (windows key+e) and then click the CD drive to see if it lists the files on there. Tell me what it says.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 05:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: now having problems with excel and quicken files

I still have the originals. I know I used Nero to burn it, but I can't remember if I used Nero 7 or Nero 8 trial. Would that make a difference?

It lists the word documents as DOC files and the excel files as XLS files.

I will try to make another copy and if it still doesn't work, I may go buy a transfer cable or a thumb drive.

Do you think it has to do with the version of Microsoft Office?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 05:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: now having problems with excel and quicken files

Did you use Office 2000 on the XP machine? What version of Office are you using now? The files should work as the .doc format and the .xls format has been the same from 97 till the most recent version of Office which is 2007. It was then that they changed the format to .docx and that. So it shoudl work jsut fine.

I think the Nero you used corrupted the files or didnt burn the CD's right. Cause you have the same issue with the Pictures. So either try to install Nero 8 and see if it helps or you are gonna be out of luck it seems.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 05:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: now having problems with excel and quicken files

On both machines, I am using Office 2000.

I was using a trial version of Nero 8 and I think that might be the problem. I am going to burn another copy using Nero 7 and see if it works.

Also, would it make a difference if Vista is 64bit? Could that be the problem?

BTW, I got the problem with viewing pictures fixed. I burned another copy using Nero 7. I had a little trouble transferring them from the dvd but no big deal, I got it working.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 05:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: now having problems with excel and quicken files

No. That wouldnt be the problem. As it isnt the OS that reads the files but the software. I really would suggest a newer version of Office as 2000 is really outdated. But i can understand that whole $$ thing. There has to be something with the way Nero burned them. Are you using Nero Burning Rom and creating a Data disc when you do this?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 05:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: now having problems with excel and quicken files

I just burned another copy with Nero 7 and now its working. So I am thinking that Nero 8 trail was the problem. Maybe it has to be the full version on Nero 8 to work correctly, I don't know.

I opened up Nero Startsmart and instead of going from there, I opened up Nero Express and created a data dvd.

Now I need to get my email moved over to Vista. Is Windows Mail and Outlook Express the same thing? I tried to import the folder where they are stored at but did not work. I may try and burn another copy since it has worked for everything else. Should I start a new thread for this subject?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 09:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: now having problems with excel and quicken files

Now no need. Since it all is the same subject. Importing you files over to Vista. Windows Mail is hte new Outlook Express. It is updated to the newest version. I think you might have to export them and then import them. I know the format is different so you should be able to see what format Windows Mail uses and be able to export your OE stuff in that format.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 09:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: now having problems with excel and quicken files

Could you explain how I would do that? Are you talking about exporting the files on the XP machine to a folder then burn them to a cd? I am clueless.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 09:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: now having problems with excel and quicken files

Open Outlook Express. File>Export. Export the Messages or Address Book. Take that to your VIsta machine. How ever you are doing that. Put the file on teh Vista MAchine and open Windows Mail. File>Import. Import the file. If that doesnt work then the files are not compatible.

OLEXP: How to Manually Export and Import Messages in Outlook Express
How to back up and to restore Outlook Express data

Those will be of big help.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.