novice needs installation help

Status
Not open for further replies.

cattie

Beta member
I hope I can get some advice here. I'm a newbie & my knowledge of computers is next to nothing. I recently bought a machine specific copy of win xp home from ebay. The seller supplied some instructions for installing it by booting from a supplied floppy, which I've found a bit complicated & involved because of my lack of knowledge Ive already had 2 abortive attempts to install it this way. I've followed the instructions through formating, then copying a directory called i386. I think I did these parts ok. The instructions then say to run winnt. When I type in run winnt I get a bad command error. Is there something I haven't done right?

I see after trying to install xp this way with the boot disk that I now have 2 drives on my computer, c & d whereas before I only had a c drive.

So I've ended up having to reinstalling win ME back on my computer & then decided perhaps I should try to install win xp by booting from the cd thinking this may be the easiest thing to do, but I got totally confused when it started asking me about partitions & sizes & that kind of stuff & something about having 2 operating systems, as I just don't understand any of it or what I'm supposed to do. I just want to have xp on the computer, not ME as well. So I've had to give up on this too. I'd hoped you just popped the disc in it just did the installation automatically without any such input from me. Also not sure if I am going to try again booting from the cd if I should only have a c drive again, not c & d as I now have.

Sorry if I sound a real idiot, I don't even know if I've explained things clearly. But I'm in desperate need of help & advice, preferably step by step because of my lack of knowlege. I'm looking for the easiest option for a dumbo! Please help if you can.