Not staying in system tray! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2007, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Not staying in system tray!

I'm running vista ultimate 64 bit... and I have logitech setpoint for my peripherals and I also have a program called thunderbird tray that keeps thunderbird hidden so that I know when my email comes through... however the two don't want to stay in the system tray on a reboot. The setpoint is always set to stay there... and the thunderbird tray has its setting changed back to not be in the system tray when i reboot. Is there anything I can do to keep these two programs running on startup?
__________________

__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 03:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Not staying in system tray!

whats the problem, setpoint is still running right. Any ways, setpoint intrudes on games so its probably better that its not there.
__________________

Luke is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 04:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Re: Not staying in system tray!

But I need it there so that I can use the features on my keyboard and mice. Maybe... is there a program that can execute these programs from there locations when Vista boots up?
__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 04:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Not staying in system tray!

not that i know of. You wouldn't happen to me using the logitech 5000 keyboard and the logitech 1000 mouse. If so setpoint can be closed and the special features on your wireless keyboard and mouse will still work (thats how it is for me anyway)
Luke is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 10:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Re: Not staying in system tray!

Out of all the mice and keyboards... yes I am using those devices... however... they features aren't working for me when setpoint isn't running.
__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 10:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Not staying in system tray!

hum.....i think i got my features to work by have media life installed. Do you have it installed. If not try that
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 01:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Re: Not staying in system tray!

Shouldn't have to do that though... should stay in the system tray... and that still doesn't fix the thunderbird-tray program.
__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 03:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Not staying in system tray!

Not unless you have it set to not stay in the tray, it can still work if its not in the tray, try installing media life( i know it sounds stupid but i didn't have any of the features on my keyboard working for three months, then i installed media life and they all started to work.). I know that won't fix the thunderbird problem but it should fix the set point problem for your mx 5000 keyboard and mx1000 mouse
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 11:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Not staying in system tray!

hey,your that **** that made fun of my post about a screen saver(by the way, have you solved that poblem yet,i doub't it) well ur on your own for the setpoint problem.(by the way, installing medialife will solve your problem with setpoint,but don't listen to me)
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 03:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default Re: Not staying in system tray!

Dude... you can probably get yourself banned by calling someone a ****. As far as medialife goes... i don't want to install another program when it works fine when setpoint is active. Does anybody else have any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
"Files waiting to be written to cd" message in system tray? jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 1 09-26-2007 08:50 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.