Norton A/V 2003 + Scheduled tasks - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2004, 06:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Blo
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 94
Default Norton A/V 2003 + Scheduled tasks

I've got a sheduled task called'Symantec NetDetect', which although the task has never run, is set to run every 5 minutes of every day...
I have Norton A/Virus 2003, which also has a task,(virus definitions update) set to run every friday night.(scheduler says this has never run either-although i know it does)...
If i double click or right click and choose properties on either task, a dialogue box comes-up saying 'General page initialization failed. The specific error is 0x8009000F: Object already exists'...
So the QUESTIONS ARE...
1. What's net detect
2. If i need it, does it need to run so often, (every 5 minutes) - or can it be deleted even !

and...

Can i get norton AV 2003 TO delete an infected email instead of just deleting the attachment ?
Many thanks Blo.
__________________

Blo is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 09:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 133
Default

have you tried re-installing NAV? Might solve your problem.

No idea on the email attachment Q, but my uneducated guess would be "no, can't do it"

So now someone will come along and prove me a dumbarse :-)
__________________

Blueman is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 04:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Blo
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 94
Default

You're not a dumb-***... The NAV/EMAIL question... you can't do it... Otherwise, Norton wouldn't be able to sell full packages - (system works... internet security etc)... He He...
But the uninstall - then having to load all the updates, and still not knowing for sure there's anything wrong in the first place... Well, I'll not take you up on that one...
All The Best... Blo.
Blo is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 03:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

i have nav 2003 pro. i do all my updates manually everyday and therefore i have nothin in my scheduled tasks, i deleted them. i would delete urs especially if theyre failing to run. they are unneeded but u will have to run live update to update if u delete the job. but if its not running how r u staying updated, have u been doing it manually or what.
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 04:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 17
Default

Best this to do is to forget the scheduler..do it manually why add another process to your comp to do it for you when you can do it youself with one click once a week.
o0krylon0o is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 06:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Blo
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 94
Default

No... NAV virus updates ARE running... Are you telling me there are 'TWO' tasks supposed to be listed - Just for NAV updates... Or is the 'NET DETECT' nothing to do with NAV ?
It's very easy to forget updates... Especially when you're head's as cabbaged as mine...
I might try deleting the tasks, and then scheduling the NAV updates myself, or thru Symantec/norton.
After all - It's not a Major Problem, Is it ...
Sorry for the hassle... Many thanks Blo.
...'Oil Bee Bak !
'
Blo is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 06:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

u mite try disabling auto updates in nav, then deleting the scheduled tasks, then turning auto update back on and having nav recreate them and c if they work now, could have been a corrupted .job file or something.
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 06:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Blo
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 94
Default

WOW - You're Quick - I only just posted that... Went to my email, and got a reply... I thought - OH, it's my reply... But it was you / Speedy Gonzalis...
Thanks very much... No nonsense advise... Not the usual bull i get with 'self-invented PC mechanics'... You know... The sort of people who give other people advice, but usually haven't even bothered to read the question properly !
__________________

Blo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.