Norton Internet Security - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2004, 10:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 109
Default Norton Internet Security

I have NIS 2004 installed on my Win 2000 Pro PC, when logged on I frequently get a "Program Control" window opening informing me
"High risk, A remote system is attempting to acces your computer,
Protocol ICMP(Inbound), varying remote addresses & various meesages ie/ Time exceede for a Datagram(11), Echo request etc"
I always Block as recommended & tick the Always use this action box
Has anyone else experienced the same occurance, its very frustrating & I don't know how to get rid of the message being reported regularly
Thanks for any help
__________________

philb101 is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 10:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Yeah, I get the same thing. Mine mostly comes from an IP within my network (I'm on a multiple T1 connection at my apartment). Personally I like to see who's trying to get into my computer, so I don't mind all the popups, but if you really want to get rid of the popups, go into the NIS, and turn off the option to notify you upon intrusion attempt.

I don't have the exact menu structure to get to it because I'm at work, but I'll look it up and get it to you later.
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 10:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 109
Default

Will have a look at that thanks,
Mine is a home PC though I do have another PC networked to it but that PC is not always on & I still get the messages when that PC is off
philb101 is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 11:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

yeah, some things it could come from are servers trying to access some adware on your system, or an acutal hacker that for some odd reason decided you were his next target.

I'd run an adware/virus scan and see if it helps.
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 05-25-2004, 02:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

that is why I use Zone Alarm pro 2004
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.