Norton Ghost vs GoBack - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2005, 07:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Default Norton Ghost vs GoBack

I am setting up a new XP machine and figured I may want to create an image of my system once I get it stable. I could then use this if I ever run into a problem with my system.

I have Norton Ghost and Norton GoBack and have not played with either.

I am also setting it up as a Raid 0 system and want to be able to back up my Raid array every once in a while in case I ever have a HD failure.

I realize that Raid1 would be the more secure way to go, but I am a performance kind of guy and want the speed and the security. So I plan on using the Raid 0 array (2 x 160 G Sata WD drives) and purchasing a decent size ATA drive for periodic backups of the array.

Can anyone suggest a good recipee that I can use to protect my data using either Ghost or GoBack. And what would be a good set of rules to follow to backup my data.
__________________

ijs12fly is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 01:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

I think goback is similiar to winxp system restore , yet much better. I think you should create a restore point with goback at the beginning and before installing new software. Also create a ghost image after a fresh operating system installation with all programs/ games/ settings customized to your preferences. anytime goback can't fix your problem use ghost to restore your hard disk image. as for programs for backing up your raid array try Backup MyPC or Second Copy 2000.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 01:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Do windowsupdate.microsoft.com before imaging.

V2i Protector / Drive Image is better.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 03:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
Do windowsupdate.microsoft.com before imaging.

V2i Protector / Drive Image is better.
I second that
EricB is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 09:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Regarding the Windows Update suggestion.

I am running XP SP1 for now, and have been told a by some that DO NOT UPGRADE to SP2, while others say its a must.

So is SP2 the way to go or the way to avoid?
ijs12fly is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 12:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I heard lots of people are having problems with SP2, but other's don't.

I don't need it so I don't install. Why would you?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.