Norton AV disabled!!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2005, 10:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I would run a virus scan. See my sig. I would use Trend instead of norton as well.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 03:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 29
Default

i use firefox. the installation says it needs netscape browser.

due to this trojan, i cannot goto anyother link on that site.
looks like i'll have to do the good ol format method.
__________________

thatdarngood is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 03:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 29
Default

this is one hell of a trojan
thatdarngood is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

You are right, this is one hell of a trojan . However, I can and will help you out.
Follow these instructions: (before u do this make a restore point!!!)
1. Go to start -> run -> type in 'regedit'
2. Locate these strings and delete them.
a. HKEY_CURRENT_USER\ Software\ Microsoft\ Windows\ CurrentVersion\ Run
winshost.exe = %sysdir%\ winshost.exe
b. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\ Software\ Microsoft\ Windows\ CurrentVersion\ Run
winshost.exe = %sysdir%\ winshost.exe
3. Also hit cntl+alt+del -> processes -> end WINSHOST.EXE if found there. (might want to try step 3, first if it doens't work)
4. Do a windows update as well, this trojan loves to screw ur security patches over.
5. Reboot your computer. Post results.
6. If this doesn't go right, i have something we can try next.
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Try this:

http://securityresponse.symantec.com...oval.tool.html
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

P.S.
You got that information from a guy who counted as follows:
1, 2, 3, 4, 4, 5, 7.

Doesn't that make you trust him even more?
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

this the new virus trick for NAV. you think norton is scanning your computer when everybody else is. Ditch norton. it code is so old and widespread my son could probably crack it. people are using norton to their advantage

give me your email I will send you avast.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Norton sucks
Use Avast its free and good and doesnt use up many
resources
Lucky_Penguin is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 06:38 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blitze105
You are right, this is one hell of a trojan . However, I can and will help you out.
Follow these instructions: (before u do this make a restore point!!!)
1. Go to start -> run -> type in 'regedit'
2. Locate these strings and delete them.
a. HKEY_CURRENT_USER\ Software\ Microsoft\ Windows\ CurrentVersion\ Run
winshost.exe = %sysdir%\ winshost.exe
b. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\ Software\ Microsoft\ Windows\ CurrentVersion\ Run
winshost.exe = %sysdir%\ winshost.exe
3. Also hit cntl+alt+del -> processes -> end WINSHOST.EXE if found there. (might want to try step 3, first if it doens't work)
4. Do a windows update as well, this trojan loves to screw ur security patches over.
5. Reboot your computer. Post results.
6. If this doesn't go right, i have something we can try next.
this may sound strange but i dont have any of those entries in my registry. also there is no winshost.exe running.
i have uninstalled norton anyway.
thatdarngood is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 09:48 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 29
Default happy news

well i finally got rid of it. i installed a evaluation copy of panda 2005
and did a full scan of it. i think iam free of the virus as i can now connect to symantec.com.
__________________

thatdarngood is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.