Norton Anti Virus wont start when Windows boots. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2006, 03:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Norton Anti Virus wont start when Windows boots.

Just istalled NAV 2006 on my older PC and it's not wanting to start when windows starts. I have tried reinstalling it and messing with the configurations, but it still wont start with windows. I have to go through the start menu and actually open it after windows boots. Whats wrong with it?
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 03:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

drag the icon to the startup folder
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

IMO that's a good thing. Norton is a resource hog
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 44
Default

Option ---> Auto-Protect ---> Start Auto-Protect when Windows start up
__________________
<b><font color=\"#0000FF\">Where we are today is a result of the choices we made yesterday.
Lets make the best choices today that we might have the best tomorrow.</font></b>
<font color=\"#FF0000\"><b>The road to success is always under construction.</b></font>
<b><font color=\"#0000FF\"> Everyday is a bad day, some are just worst than others.</font></b>
<font color=\"#FF0000\"><b>If you never learn to face your fears, you\'ll never learn to face life.</b></font>
<b><font color=\"#0000FF\">Live your life so that when you die, you\'re smiling and everyone around you is crying.</font></b>
time_come_back is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 11:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
IMO that's a good thing. Norton is a resource hog
I'm with you
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 01:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
IMO that's a good thing. Norton is a resource hog
The auto protect isn't going to work to well without Norton running though.

Put it in the start menu folder and it opens the program, but it opens the main window too. Pretty annoying to have to close all the time.

In the options, I set it up to start at startup. Still not working.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 02:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 44
Default

Have you checked "Start Auto protect when Windows startup" ???
__________________
<b><font color=\"#0000FF\">Where we are today is a result of the choices we made yesterday.
Lets make the best choices today that we might have the best tomorrow.</font></b>
<font color=\"#FF0000\"><b>The road to success is always under construction.</b></font>
<b><font color=\"#0000FF\"> Everyday is a bad day, some are just worst than others.</font></b>
<font color=\"#FF0000\"><b>If you never learn to face your fears, you\'ll never learn to face life.</b></font>
<b><font color=\"#0000FF\">Live your life so that when you die, you\'re smiling and everyone around you is crying.</font></b>
time_come_back is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 11:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by time_come_back
Have you checked "Start Auto protect when Windows startup" ???
Like I said above, yes.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 11:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

I would check to see if the service exists or is enabled on your system...

...go to the System Configuration Utility (MSCONFIG in Run) > then click on the Services tab > then look for the service Norton AntiVirus Auto-Protect Service to see if it exists. Listing them in ascending order might help you.

If it exists, verfiy that the service is enabled. If it's disabled, enable it and restart.

If it doesn't exist, then I would try uninstalling it again, but instead using SymNRT, obtainable here with instructions: http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT...&osv_lvl=&seg=.

It may be that some files may have been left over after a previous installation of Norton, and not removed or overwritten properly.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.