Norton! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2005, 09:07 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

lol.......anyways, avg works quieter and less interfering than norton, which I dumped as well a while ago. Cant believe I payed money for it.

No offense Eric but u need to proof read...
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 10:29 PM   #22 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vaderpro
lol.......anyways, avg works quieter and less interfering than norton, which I dumped as well a while ago. Cant believe I payed money for it.

No offense Eric but u need to proof read...
No offense but your mom need to know how to Read. you basically giving him the same advice as me, but now you want to check somebody.

the last time that I checked, this was a forum where people gave their opinions to to an answer. it doesn't have to necessarily be the right one, but it can be an attempt to get to the right one.

you need to learn some respect.

If you had bother to check newbie, You would have seen that I'm pretty good about solving people's problem around here
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 10:35 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

well i think avg uses more cpu than avg i couldnt play cs:s today when i was scanning thought i could play doom while scanning with norton. so i dont see how u can say less interfering
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 01:43 AM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Avg is way less of a system hog than Norton, many will attest to that...
You totally misunderstood me ericb....lol again..
I was laughing at your aggression and your english, quote:

I get pissed off when People make stupid comments just because they haven't heard of something. I was going to post some links but, Why waste my time even trying to find them. I probably this done at least 200 times on this forum. I'm not going to do it this time.

Esp "i probably this done".

Its ok, though, this forum is for help yes. I just thought I would point it out that it's not very clear english, n'est pas?


And btw Ericb, I trust your judgment and have read many of your helpful posts; and I wasn't contesting this one. I was only saying you should proof read, as your english is poor.....sorrry to offend you again killer..


Fact: I am a Newbie and Ericb you know a lot more than me> Agreed, fully and completely.
VP.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 05:23 AM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Symantec is was less consuming than Norton, even thou same company. ccApp.exe is using 2980k VPTray is using 1368k Not to bad and I have never seen a problem with it.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 07:10 AM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

not being able to play an intensive game while virus scanning wouldnt surprise me with any antivirus. norton may not b so demanding while actually scanning but the scan will take longer as avg is probably trying to get it done asap using full available resources at the time of the scan. as far as normal "non scanning" mode goes i would bet that avg would kill in memory usage and real time monitoring efficiency.( how much work is actually getting done using x amount of resources) plus its free, cant beat that.
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 10:09 AM   #27 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vaderpro
Avg is way less of a system hog than Norton, many will attest to that...
You totally misunderstood me ericb....lol again..
I was laughing at your aggression and your english, quote:

I get pissed off when People make stupid comments just because they haven't heard of something. I was going to post some links but, Why waste my time even trying to find them. I probably this done at least 200 times on this forum. I'm not going to do it this time.

Esp "i probably this done".

Its ok, though, this forum is for help yes. I just thought I would point it out that it's not very clear english, n'est pas?


And btw Ericb, I trust your judgment and have read many of your helpful posts; and I wasn't contesting this one. I was only saying you should proof read, as your english is poor.....sorrry to offend you again killer..


Fact: I am a Newbie and Ericb you know a lot more than me> Agreed, fully and completely.
VP.
1st off, My english isn't poor. I'm a horrible typer. it was the only class that I flunked (I got A's in Everything else though)
when I was in school. if you seen the size of my hands you would know why (I'm also 6'4" 275 and I still got big hands for my size)

2nd, there was no need to point it out as it was obvious to everybody here

3rd. It was none of your business. if you look around here, A lot of people here have this issue. you don't like it, don't read it

Was dat punctuuuaal nuff 4 U?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 03:10 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Now guys, no need to start attacking eachother. spelling or ghrammer. In the words from Tom Greens blog "cabbage, cabbage, cabbage." It doesn't matter folks, who cares, as long as the message gets across. Tom green wrote aboot how it's great how writers aren't pissed at him for his blog if he makes mistakes, cause he's doing it all by himself, he can do what he wants, doesn't matter.

Now, after reading that norton did patch their program to fix that security hole dude. So norton's safe again.

Also, I tried avg. I wasn't pleased. I got a virus, and it said "virus found! please run a virus scan to remove it" and I was like "wtf.. why not just remove it now?" so I go to run a virus scan.. and the virus just ate avg. Great eh? lol... so yeah, avg's ok, well, for a free one, don't expect miracles unless you pay out cash for the pro version I bet.
__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 01:45 AM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Again, wow........suprised at your response ericb.......if i screwd up with "typing", and someone pointed it out, I "WOULD'NT" get offended...I personally would say..."whooops...lol....i will fix".......wow sry to offend you dude....you gots issues...


<Sorry to change thread topic all>

And ericb, if your typing is poor, then you need to proof-read. No offense intended.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 11:33 AM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

kids come one now lol
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.