Norton 2005 Slow - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2005, 05:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Angry Norton 2005 Slow

I just installet Norton 2005 AV only and when i enter windows then it takes about 45 sec to 1 min before i can use my computer.

When i disable my internet then it only takes 10 sec or so before i can use my internet...i wonder is it my router and norton that tryes to comunicate.. i dont use any firewall in windows

What shall i do..any clue to remove the 1 min wait time ?

I stil wanna keep Norton 2005 or higher version
__________________

Psycrow is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

I had norton and dumped it cause it slows down computers. Its always doing something....whats your system specs? Maybe its updating. make sure its updated and then see if better.
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 02:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 76
Default

I had Norton too, but I threw it out. Cuase It made my PC running slow!!! It always do it!!!!
Defence is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 04:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

the 1st thing that everybody learn when they join this forum is that norton's is junk
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 07:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Yes i know peeps says crap about norton but it actualy saved my comp one time and i find it good...exept from the slowing down thing ..my specs are huyge enough..never had any slow down before
Psycrow is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 09:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I have never had a problem with norton. Of course my system specs are high so i dont have to worry about slow down. As far as people say its junk that is just a personal opinion. I think it is better than Mcafee. There is ZoneAlarm and some other that are better but norton does just fine for me.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 10:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Yes but what can i do to prevent the slow start ...any feat diablet ? or any other clue ???
Psycrow is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 10:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
the 1st thing that everybody learn when they join this forum is that norton's is junk
No, actually, its from personal experience , not from being subscribed to this forum, that myself and Defence disliked norton........
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 12:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Psycrow
Yes but what can i do to prevent the slow start ...any feat diablet ? or any other clue ???
The only thing you can do is disable auto protect. Not a good idea really, but that should help.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 12:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
the 1st thing that everybody learn when they join this forum is that norton's is junk
Not quite. I am using Norton Corporate edition on all my systems. Including my Win 98, PIII 650 machine. No problems, no slow downs, nothing.

It is also the antivirus s/w given to all the students for free on our campus. The University tech department could've done this with any s/w package. But they also chose Norton.

I really don't have any complains with their s/w.
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.