Noobie needs windows help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2006, 10:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Angry Noobie needs windows xp help

hey guys,

first off, i would like to say that i am indeed a noobie, and i accept that.second i would like to comment on how great i find this site to be. very encouraging.... anyways i have a problem. ok it started when i accidently ended the process " explorer" on windows. I accidently did this so please no bagging. next , my computerr froze, so i killed it and tried to restart it. upon restartring it it game me a new menu asking me wether i wanted to run it as normal or safe mode or last remembered time. NO matter which one i choose, it continues to load windows , but about 5-7 seconds into loading, it restarts itself, and does the exact thing. PLease provide any help thanks

Im running a P4 at 2.8 GHZ
1.5 GB memmory

if that helps... thanks
__________________

Onimun is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 11:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

reboot...and press F8 to get into the boot menu while booting...i am assuming that you have windows XP...so then choose "Last Known Good Configuration" and it should solve the problem
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 11:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Default

thanks for your help...i try this, and windows starts loading, but about 5 seconds in, it reatarts compleatly.....
Onimun is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 11:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

XP Repair install

Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.
When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the options below
This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
Windows XP to run on your computer:

To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.

Press Enter to start the Windows Setup. do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R", (you Do Not want to load Recovery Console). I repeat, do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R".
Accept the License Agreement and Windows will search for existing Windows installations.
Select the XP installation you want to repair from the list and press R to start the repair. If Repair is not one of the options, read this Warning#2!
Setup will copy the necessary files to the hard drive and reboot. Do not press any key to boot from CD when the message appears. Setup will continue as if it were doing a clean install, but your applications and settings will remain intact.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 11:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Default

thanks alot monster, for the help. my computer did not come with an windows XP cd, but a recovery function on the boot up screen. i dont thinki it offers a repair, just recovery... or is that it? also i have media center edition, not regular xp. also, its a HP.. if that helps. thanks guys, ill fiddle around with it some more
Onimun is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 11:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

well that sucks....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 11:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Default

any other suggestions...... i dont want system recovery right?
Onimun is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 11:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

well if you dont care about what is on your pc go ahead and do it. If you had a xp cd we could try other things first
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 11:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Default

it gives me a menu, asking me wether i want to continue with system recovery or click no, and try out other repair features of xp
Onimun is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 11:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

try repair features first
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.