noob question, how to keep comp from lagging during gaming - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2005, 11:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Unhappy noob question, how to keep comp from lagging during gaming

hi all
i'm bran new here, and i'm haven some troubles. not quite sure what forum i should be posting this question in, sorry if o picked the wrong one.
anyhoo, i have a dell inspiron 5100 notebook. about 2 years old now, and as one can immagine, full of junk files. i am having trouble running my two favorite games, Warcraft III and Day of defeat. MMMAAAAJJJOOORRR lag problems. i've tried all this simple things, like running adware, defragging, clearing memory by deleting files., but still the same problem.
anything you guys can suggest would be great. thanks allot
__________________

george1098 is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 11:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you online with playing WC? whats you vc like?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 11:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to homerj14
Default

What kind of lag are you talking about? connection Speed lag? or graphics LAg?
homerj14 is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 12:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

im guessing graphics lag...
if you have THAT much junk crap just format because im sure its not all safe.
Static_11 is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 06:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

it laggs even when i'm not playing, so a graphics lag i would assume. is there any other option short of formating?
george1098 is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 07:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226
Default

if your computer is full of junk and spyware and stuff. Then the only real solution is to format it. if you do format it make sure you have everything you need or want backed up somewhere because its all gona be gone. and dont try to format if you dont know how to reinstall everything like windows and all the drivers and stuff, do a little research first atleast.
Tro1086 is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 07:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Laptops aren't very good for gaming. Mostly the gfx cards in laptops suck.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 04:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

oh tellme about it. i have been running both these games since i got the comp and normally they work fine. its only been rescently when i started playing again that they have been this lagged out, because of everything that has accumulated
george1098 is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 04:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Spork 2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 219
Default

I feel your pain george, I use to have the same problems with my Windows 98 machine. Try using a program like Process Explorer to see exactly what it is on your machine that's taking up all kinds of CPU power and memory. You also might want to try StatBar, which is like a toolbar that sits on your desktop and shows you in real time how much memory is being used, etc.

StatBar: http://www.statbar.nl/
WinPatrol: http://www.winpatrol.com/
Spork 2.0 is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 05:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I would reload your o/s. I tend to do it once or twice a year. Others do it more often. Its always the best start IMO.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.