no "you can now safely turn off your computer" - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2004, 04:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to yakir_sudry
Default no "you can now safely turn off your computer"

when i turn off my computer it closes everything and then the stupid screen that says "you can now safely turn off your computer" appears, i'm pretty sure there is a way to cancel it and that the computer will turn himself automatically,
HOW?
__________________

yakir_sudry is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 04:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to NeoNemesis
Default

If you have anything besides windows xp ( i think maybe 2000), its always going to say that.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"4\" <a href=\"http://s7.invisionfree.com/NeoForum/index.php\">My Forum</a>
we are just starting out so we need you to join!
NeoNemesis is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 05:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to yakir_sudry
Default

i have XP, now how do i cancel it?
__________________
IT Essentials 1-2
A+
CCNA


CPU - Athlon 64 3000+ (S-939) VENICE CORE
Mother Board- K8NF-9 (NF4, s939, PCI-E)
Video- Gigabyte 6600GT 256 MB
DVD Burner- NEC 3540A DVD±RW x16 Dual x8
HD- 80GB (8MB) SATA DiamondMax Plus 9
Memory 512Mb 400MHz Kingston CL3 *2 (1 GB)
Screen- 17'' LCD proview 8 ms 1:700
yakir_sudry is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 05:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 116
Default

ok go into your cmos (bios) in the power there will be something like after power state change that.!
Vnet is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 02:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 92
Default

I would also check the power feature in the control pannel, check the setting for when shutting down
Senseis is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 08:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to yakir_sudry
Default

havent found anything in thecontrol panel that can help, about the Cmos i tried a abit but i havent understood exactly what you ment
__________________
IT Essentials 1-2
A+
CCNA


CPU - Athlon 64 3000+ (S-939) VENICE CORE
Mother Board- K8NF-9 (NF4, s939, PCI-E)
Video- Gigabyte 6600GT 256 MB
DVD Burner- NEC 3540A DVD±RW x16 Dual x8
HD- 80GB (8MB) SATA DiamondMax Plus 9
Memory 512Mb 400MHz Kingston CL3 *2 (1 GB)
Screen- 17'' LCD proview 8 ms 1:700
yakir_sudry is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 08:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Hmm...

I have Windows Xp, and when I tell it to shut down, it goes through the whole "saving your settings" bit, then turns off. I haven't messed with my bios (on this mobo) at all. From the XP side, I've always considered it a motherboard feature that XP picks up through the drivers and HWI.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 08:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to yakir_sudry
Default

its not for me, my computer also shuts down as it should, its for my friend she HATES that stupid screen and i offered to help her, but it seemes more complicated then i thought, can somone explain me how to do it, i can handle the bios...
__________________
IT Essentials 1-2
A+
CCNA


CPU - Athlon 64 3000+ (S-939) VENICE CORE
Mother Board- K8NF-9 (NF4, s939, PCI-E)
Video- Gigabyte 6600GT 256 MB
DVD Burner- NEC 3540A DVD±RW x16 Dual x8
HD- 80GB (8MB) SATA DiamondMax Plus 9
Memory 512Mb 400MHz Kingston CL3 *2 (1 GB)
Screen- 17'' LCD proview 8 ms 1:700
yakir_sudry is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 10:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 185
Default

Does your friend have XP? It sounds like she's working with Windows 9x/ME.
__________________
\"The surest way to corrupt a youth is to instruct him to hold in higher esteem those who think alike than those who think differently.\" Friedrich Nietzsche
cajun33 is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 10:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default Re: no "you can now safely turn off your computer"

Quote:
Originally posted by yakir_sudry
when i turn off my computer it closes everything and then the stupid screen that says "you can now safely turn off your computer" appears, i'm pretty sure there is a way to cancel it and that the computer will turn himself automatically,
HOW?
By the sounds of it, this is a home PC we're dealing with. This is not a matter of what MS OS you're running (I run a dual boot Win98/W2K) and have never run into this problem.

Here's a link to a MSKB article you should read to solve your situation.

http://support.microsoft.com/default...&Product=winxp
__________________

Lone Wolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.