no windows xp disc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2006, 12:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Default no windows xp disc

ok i bought my compaq 8000 series computer from circuit city a few years ago. i am now wanting to re-install my windows xp home edition but when i was looking for the xp cd i couldnt find it. then i got to thinking and i never remember seeing an xp cd. what i am wondering is what do i do if compaq/circuit city didnt give me an xp cd? can i just find out the product number off of the one on here here now and borrow someones xp cd and just enter my product key? by the way this will be my first time re-installing windows on my computer, so if you have any advice on what to do and tips on re-installing windows iwould really appreciate it.


turbog03 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 01:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,955

can i just find out the product number off of the one on here here now and borrow someones xp cd and just enter my product key?
Yes, and yes.

Lot's of programs will give you the serial code for your Windows. I use Belarc Advisor because it is free and small. It gives you a lot of info about your system as well as your software. It is not as thorough as Everest and all, but I like its file size.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 04:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 57

I would also like to do the same glad you brought this up man thanx. All I need to do is borrow my friends xp disk find out my current and there done? am i correct
gameover is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 01:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 183

Did you check to see if you have another partition on your drive that stores the recovery files? That way you press xxx key when booting to do a recovery.
wasisnt is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 01:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 33

definitly the partition. i had the same problem with my father in law's compaq. searched through everything looking for xp disks...then actually decided to read the manual that came with it.

its on a 'secret ' least that's what i think it was called.

stupid if you ask me.
chris32680 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 03:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861

hit f10 to restore the drive with compaq's and hp's computers
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 03:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Law's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200

I think the XP that came with your compaq is OEM, and the key will not work with a retail or other OEM CD. Most likey you'll need to startup the recovery console as stated by EricB or it can be found on your start menu/program file /

It's possible now that most manufacture are providing the recovery program on a hidden partition. There are ways to start it up too if the F10 key does not work for you or the program doesn't work. You can set that partiton active, it will boot because it's bootable, it has the nesscary IO.sys, etc files.
Law is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 07:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17

ok i am new to this and i am not sure if i am asking to do what i want to do. i want o reinstall windows which i am thinking will take all compaqs extra stuff off of my computer. i want it to were there is really nothing on my computer but the programs i need and the ones i use. i did the recovery thing awhile back and it just sent it back to how it was when i first got the computer, with all compaqs stuff on it. am i thinking wrong or what do i need to do?

turbog03 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.