No video in StarCraft - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2007, 12:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default No video in StarCraft

I just installed StarCraft on my new computer along with Broodwar. The installation was quick and successful, but when i try to start the game, I only get a black screen - sound, but no video. It doesn't seem to hang - I can exit out by pressing escape multiple times.

nForce 680i/4 mobo
E6600 @ 3.2GHz
2GB RAM
GeForce 8800GTS 320
Windows XP Pro
1680x1050

UPDATE:
ok, I just downloaded the latest patch from Blizzard... now instead of a black screen, the video hangs on this:
]

not a big improvement
__________________

__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 02:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
 
revenge2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: earth
Posts: 360
Default Re: No video in StarCraft

lol- feel your pain but the problem i got is i got the SC demo. It works fine but it doesn't connect to the battle.net server.

But it works....

sorry im not being much help but hey!
__________________

revenge2 is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 04:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: No video in StarCraft

Try different drivers for you rvideo card. Starcraft runs fine on my machine with my 6800. Even in Vista.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 07:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default Re: No video in StarCraft

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Try different drivers for you rvideo card. Starcraft runs fine on my machine with my 6800. Even in Vista.
I just settled on the Beta drivers after several hours of trying to get the Control Panel to work with any hour driver... it just doesn't.
__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card and/or motherboard issues sdness Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-13-2008 01:41 AM
Simple Video Card Question White_Wolf System Upgrades 1 11-19-2007 05:05 PM
video cards lemonfrost System Upgrades 9 11-09-2007 02:49 AM
Need help in choosing Video Cards Under $130 r3n3r4d3 System Upgrades 31 10-22-2007 03:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.