No Taskbar or icons - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2005, 11:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Default No Taskbar or icons

Hello everyone,
Got a real problem with a PC running XP home

When the PC has booted there are no icons and no taskbar. Exactly the same under safe mode as well.
You can press CTRL ALT DEL and run programs from there, but I've tried explorer.exe and it appears in the process list and dissapears straight away.
I've updated McAfee, Spybot and Adaware and run full scans......they found a few minor spyware but nothing serious......made no difference anyway.
I found a "No desktop" registry fix elswhere on the forum and tried that also........no change. I want to try and create another user profile but i can't figure out how to open user manager. I can't use lusrmgr.msc with XP home and control.exe does not work if i run it from task manager.
I've also installed SP2......no difference.
I don't have an XP home CD but i do have an XP pro CD....... anyone know if i can do a repair using this?

Please help.......it's driving me mad!
Thanks
Phil
__________________

pr323ise is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 12:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 97
Default

Right click on the desktop and go to arrange icons by... then make sure you have show desktop icons checked. As for the taskbar have you check your montior display size, your taskbar may be off the screen, or maybe someone collapsed it, go to the bottom of the screen and see if it gives you a two headed arrow, if it does hold and drag up
__________________

__________________
John Cambece
jcambece is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 12:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

the least trouble will be to repair it. I'm not sure if the pro cd will work with home but its worth a shot. if not, lets try and trouble shoot this
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 12:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the replies.
Can't right click on the desktop to arrange the icons or view the properties. I'm nervous about trying the repair in case i lose some data......it's not my PC
I've also tried to start up system restore but it appears in the process list in task manager and does nothing.
pr323ise is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 12:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

a repair wont make you lose data, a full install will.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 12:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Hi,
Just tried the repair using the XP pro disk i have and it looks like the setup does not recognise the existing XP install.....I don't get the option to repair..... .just a case of pick your partition etc
pr323ise is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 12:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you got to pick the partition to repair first
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 03:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I picked the partition and and it just asked if i wanted to format it using NTFS or FAT32.......i cancelled it at that point.

The owner of the PC doesn't have the disk for XP home so i've told her to take the PC back to the supplier to attempt a repair.

Thanks very much for your help and suggestions anyway
__________________

pr323ise is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.