No sound in Windows...did something stupid - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2005, 09:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 71
Default No sound in Windows...did something stupid

This is slightly embarassing, but I did a fresh install of WinXP sp2 and proceeded doing some tweaks from various web sites. Well, somewhere along the line, I appear to have disabled sounds in Windows. Games, music (via WMP) all have music, just not windows (or IM, which is what really bothers me). The audio settings are fine in control panel. So, does anyone have any ideas as to what the he// I may have done, and how I can fix it????

Thanks,

Greg
__________________

Shibby is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 10:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

right click my computer>>properties>>hardware>>device manager

do you see any yellow "!" or red "X" ??

If so, reinstall the driver for your sound.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 11:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Check all your volume controls, software and hardware.

Try playing a sound from the Windows Sound Recorder instead of WMP. WMP can't do anything to your sound other than mute it or change the volume.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 71
Default

device manager looks fine, sound comes out of sound recorder just fine. Any other ideas?
Shibby is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 04:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 71
Default

nm...i figured it out. turns out i'm stupid
Shibby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.