no search from start menu, no network connetion, no win updates - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2006, 11:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 228
Send a message via ICQ to selina Send a message via Yahoo to selina
Default no search from start menu, no network connetion, no win updates

a few PC over are having this problem. ( i thinki might have posted this in this forum before but i'm not sure...)

they are on WinXp SP 1 or 2 and have SAV v.10.0.1 or 2 installed.

Symptomes:
1. network connection windows is empty even tho it's connected to LAN
2. Start>Search doesn't do anything at all
3. Start>All Prgrams>Windows Updates doesn't do anything
4. from IE, Tools>Windows Updates will give error 0x800A0046

Does anyone have any idea on fixing this?
__________________

selina is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 11:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

domain or workgroups?

sounds like a GPO issue
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 12:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 228
Send a message via ICQ to selina Send a message via Yahoo to selina
Default

in domain.
selina is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 01:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

same for diferent users in different groups/ous?
office politics is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 01:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 228
Send a message via ICQ to selina Send a message via Yahoo to selina
Default

all in the same domain.

I've looked around and i've found this:
Local Policies > User Rights Asgnment > Impersonate a client after authentication.
I'm supposed to have "ADministrator" and "Service" in here. but I don't. And "Add User or Group" option is grayed out.

I've also looked at "Remote Procedure CAll (RPC) properties" wehre Logon account whould be NT Authority\Network Service and Profile1 (i think this one is a default). But I don't have Profile1 on this one. How do I add Profile 1 to this?
selina is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 02:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 228
Send a message via ICQ to selina Send a message via Yahoo to selina
Default

I figured out.
I shouldn't have been so scared to changed it to "Local System Account".... :P

thanks
selina is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 02:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

sounds like fun
__________________

office politics is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.