no mouse pointer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2006, 03:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

prolly good to upgrade ME too
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 10:01 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by csamuels
prolly good to upgrade ME too
Yeah, upgrade it to the trash bin. Even MS says WinME sucks.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 01:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default

Ya, I had ME, Then I got really frustrated because I couldn't change the colours or resolution of the screen and plenty of other annoying things were happening. I then got Windows XP. Problem solved.
__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
ASUS M2N32 Sli-Deluxe Wireless edition
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (AM2)
Western Digital WD1001FALS 1TB Sata 2.0 HDD
Maxtor 200GB Sata 1.5 HDD
4GB (4x1GB) Kingston DDR2 PC6400 RAM
Nvidia EVGA GeForce 8600GT 512MB 128 bit
Antec TruePower Quattro 850 PSU
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 02:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 32
Default

Yeah, I don't like ME, but it's the best I have. I tried going back to 98se, but that just resulted in too many issues, and purchasing an upgrade of any kind isn't much of an option currently.

Unfortunately, I overlooked one thing earlier...
Not only had my mouse and display drivers disapeared, by audio ones had too apparently.
So I've essentially got no sound. I reinstalled the motherboard drivers on the cd, downloaded updated drivers and a chipset from asus for my A7N266-VM motherboard, and still have had no succes.
It's seemingly a pretty similar situation to one I had before, which was resolved by upgrading from 98se to ME, which doesn't look like an option considering that's my current os. I'm pretty much getting the response that I have no sound device installed.
Lizzybeth is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 07:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you figure this out yet?
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 07:45 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 32
Default

not the sound issue. I don't even know what to try anymore.
Lizzybeth is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 08:51 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
bigbaddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 156
Send a message via Yahoo to bigbaddog
Default

I was working on an ME machine the other day that had pretty much the same issues your machine had...no mouse pointer, 16 color graphics and no sound. Wonder if there is a bug going 'round? I just reformated and reinstalled ME

On used machines that I refurbish, insted of ME or Win98 I now install Win2000 with SP4. You can get a copy from eBay for 30-40 bucks now and works a lot better than the older OSs.
bigbaddog is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 09:31 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lizzybeth
not the sound issue. I don't even know what to try anymore.

when you go to the device manager, what do you see now on the sound card? exclamation, red x, etc? do you have the drivers and are the correct?
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 03:35 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 32
Default

In Device manager under Sound Video and game controllers I see:
Gameport Joystick
NVIDIA nForce(TM) Audio Codec Interface
NVIDIA nForce(TM) MCP Audio Processing Unit (Dolby Digital)
Unimodem Half Duplex Wave Device
Wave Device for Voice Modem

There are no exclamation points, xs, or anything next to their icons and I checked the properties on all of them and the device status says the device is working properly.

I tried updating the drivers for all of them but couldn't for the Audio Codec Interface or the Audio Processing Unit. When trying to update it found the drivers on the cd that came with the motherboard and in the new chipset for win9x that I downloaded from asus' site. Ultimately though, I received an error message saying the drivers had not been tested on ME and could therefore not install and I got error code: 145.
__________________

Lizzybeth is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.