no mouse pointer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2006, 09:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 32
Default no mouse pointer

I got this problem while others were using it so I can't really give insight for possibilities of why it happened. The regular mouse doesn't even work, even though I know it's connected and has power, though my tablet does work, but it's very hit and miss with what I can click. The bottom line is I have no visible mouse pointer anywhere. I've only managed to get a glimpse of the pointer when I drag something and the pointer sometimes flickers for a second. What's more, the computer is in safemode, and I don't know how to get it back to normal as just restarting it didn't help. I'm using windows ME. If anyone could give me some insight or help into this matter I'd really appreciate it.
__________________

Lizzybeth is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 09:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

did you always have this problem or did this start happening recently?
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 10:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 32
Default

It just started happening. I just came home today to find my computer in this state, and supposedly no programs were installed or settings changed by the person who had used it while I was gone, at least not knowingly.
Lizzybeth is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 01:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

when you restart your machine, it should boot into normal mode unless it didnt shutdown properly. If it didnt shutdown properly, you should see a boot menu just about when the windows ME splash screen normally appears. If you see this menu, press up until you highlight Normal Mode and press enter.
office politics is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 07:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 32
Default

Well I got that screen and selected normal but it started up the same way. I guess I'm not in safe mode after all, though it looks like it. I tried to change my display settings and when it restarted nothing changed, I'm still stuck in 16 colors with a 640x480 screen.
Lizzybeth is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 07:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Try last known good config. To get back to that screen hit F8 just before the loading ME screen, and then press the up key until Last good known config is highlighted.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 09:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 32
Default

When I did that I got the boot menu csamuels mentioned, and saw no last good config option. I did take the chance though to restart in safe mode and then the mouse worked perfectly. Unfortunatelly normal mode is still messed up.
Lizzybeth is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 12:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Install new mouse drivers.
Look at the make and model of your mouse (Eg. Microsoft Basic), and go to www.google.com and search for drivers.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 12:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 32
Default

Thanks!
I installed Microsoft Intellipoint 4.1 and the mouse now works fine.
Since reinstalling the drivers for the mouse worked, I thought reinstaling the drivers for the asus motherboard might fix the issue with the display, which it did.
Lizzybeth is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 03:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Yeah, you were definately missing some drivers. The inability to change your display settings should have been the first hint...although it is weird to lose the mouse like that. Windows has default drivers for virtually everything, so you don't accidentally kill yourself by getting rid of something necissary. Stupid Windows, huh? Anywho, sounds like you're back on track, so you should think about making a stopping point, backing up things, and updating every hardware component you have. Mobo, mouse, video, sound, display, motherboard, chipset, processor, etc...
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.