No internet with vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2007, 06:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Default No internet with vista

A few days ago, i installed vista, and the internet was fine, until yesterday, when it just stopped working.

i found out that my linksys uses broadcom chips, so it displayed as broadcom, not linksys

The name of your ISP and country of residence.
Comcast, USA

Make/model of the broadband modem. If dial-up, please specify.
RCA DCM315

Make/model of the router (if any).
Belkin 65D8231

Connection type, wired, wireless.
Wireless

If wireless, encryption used, (WEP, WPA, WPA2, etc.)
WEP

Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.
Linksys WMP54GS

Make/model of your computer (motherboard if home-built).
Dell Dimensions 8400

Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP-Home (or XP-Pro), SP2.
Windows Vista Ultimate


When i click to connect on my network, it says connected, but limited connectivity. I dont have any ip address or anything. I dont know why but when i first installed, vista, the internet was fine, and just now it stopped working. I updated drivers for both the network card, and the router.


ipconfig/all gives me this:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Khoa>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : KHOA
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection*:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Khoa>


When i diagnose my connection, it says this: Internet Protocol Bindings are incorrect, and then it says to check ipv6 and ipv4

also, i cant do ipconfig/renew, it says the adapter doesnt have permission or something
__________________

Josephp22 is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 07:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: No internet with vista

I have a Dimension 8400 as well. I think it is just your wireless setting that are causing the issue. Cause my net is fine with Vista and the same machine.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 11:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: No internet with vista

Thats happened to me a few times...the whole limited connectivity thing. Turns out the router company released a patch that messed up about 3/4 of RR customers. I had to reset the router. Try that, it might work.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The end of net neutrality = bad kfc469 Off Topic Discussion 34 08-27-2009 08:03 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista SP1 leaked to the internet KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 7 08-11-2007 02:27 PM
Vista - No Internet!!! BennyV04988 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 05:58 PM
VISTA - No Internet / EAX not working BennyV04988 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-16-2007 03:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.