No Internal Mic - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2004, 06:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 376
Default No Internal Mic

i recenly deleted alot of numerous software programs off of my computer and now my "internal recording mic" does not appear under the start;programs;entertainment section on my computer. My mic still works because i can still send messages via instant messenger. But how can i get the shortcut to appear on my programs list like before? Thanx for the help
__________________

__________________
Rockets Rule!!!
2Crunk is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 09:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

If you know what Mic it is (see in device manager) then perhaps there is a software utility that you can download from the manufacturers website.
__________________

ADZ is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 03:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 376
Default

i think i might know which mic it is but the computer says that it is working fine. and there is no way to modify the properties or options on it to make another shortcut.
__________________
Rockets Rule!!!
2Crunk is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 03:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 90
Default Re: No Internal Mic

Quote:
Originally posted by 2Crunk
i recenly deleted alot of numerous software programs off of my computer and now my "internal recording mic" does not appear under the start;programs;entertainment section on my computer. My mic still works because i can still send messages via instant messenger. But how can i get the shortcut to appear on my programs list like before? Thanx for the help
I know this is off topic, but I did not know you can talk through a mic for instant messenger. Which instant messenger software allows you to do that? I am very interested, bc I would save a lot on long distant phone calls over sea
godai73 is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 03:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 376
Default

it's just the aol instant messenger, you dont have to subscribe to AOL or anything, its a free download you can get, if you both download it they have this thing called "Direct IM" and you can talk to each other.
__________________
Rockets Rule!!!
2Crunk is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 03:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 90
Default

omg. I use AIM and use the direct connect to transfer files to friends. I did not even know you can talk. I assume if I have a mic, then I can click talk and talk with the person on the other end?
godai73 is offline  
Old 02-28-2004, 03:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 376
Default

i haven't used it in a while but i think you can either do that, or you can just push F12 and it will start recording.
__________________
Rockets Rule!!!
2Crunk is offline  
Old 02-29-2004, 07:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 376
Default

besides downloading a software utility, do you have any other suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Rockets Rule!!!
2Crunk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.