No HardDrive ??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2005, 07:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Question No HardDrive ???

when i go to install any of the windows on a machine it says in the setup screen...no hard drive was found press F3 to exit and reboot....but i know that there is a hard drive in there and working because it has windows xp on it at the moment...and that works perfectly fine...

any idea why i cant install a diffrent windows ??
__________________

__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 08:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

install it from windows and do a new install. Did you boot from it? Is it a running os right now?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 08:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

i did boot from it...its has Win XP Pro on it at the moment...and im trying to install Server2000 onto it...so wen i boot from either the xp or server2000 cd...it gets to the blue install screen..then u press enter to start and it says...there was no hard drive found press F3 to reboot...
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 08:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

did you install xp the same way?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 08:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

XP come installed on the machine already...its a Acer F3
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 08:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

go into the bios and set everything to default and then put it the cd
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 08:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

everything is on default...i only just tuned the pc on and tried to install server2000
its basicly saying there is no HDD there when there is....and the HDD is working fine...
i tried to install it from within XP but it wont let me cause XP is a newer version so it disables the setup
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 08:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I would just use a win 98 bootdisk and delete the partition and make a new one and format it and then instal it, you cant install an older os on a newer system
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 08:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

um i dont think we have Win98 cd's......

is there any other way of doing it ?
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 08:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

nonononono....
www.bootdisk.com

its a floppy...
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.