no display! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2006, 10:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default Help! No Display!

i need some help...

i am trying to install a video card that the computer wasnt picking up
and i disabled the onboard display...and now i cant see my computer. it gets to the windows start screen then goes blank!


how can i restore the display and enable it?
__________________

fidelitycrisis is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 12:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Unplug your computer, remove the battery from your motherboard and let it sit for a few seconds. Replace the battery, plug it back up, and give 'er a go.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 01:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 23
Default same here

Hi,
I have got same kind of problem here. Recently I brought a new LCD flast monitor to add to my excitement of working. But the monitor worked for 3-4 days with my preveous disply card. I have N-Vidia XFX 5600 display card with 128 mb ram on it.
Well, the problem started the very next day.When I want to boot up my pc, it just showed me the windows start screen and then went off, the monitor says no cable connection or check your display cable.But I have connected correctly.Now, when I boot up to safe mode, everything works fine.I uninstalled the display driver provided by my display card.Now my Pc boots up ok but without any display driver.
I am not sure whats going on here.But once I install hte driver, it goes off. I am on windows XP and UBUNTU linux.My linux boots up without any problem.
Please help. I think its the display driver confusing Windows.
saumya is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 01:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: same here

Quote:
Originally posted by saumya
Hi,
I have got same kind of problem here. Recently I brought a new LCD flast monitor to add to my excitement of working. But the monitor worked for 3-4 days with my preveous disply card. I have N-Vidia XFX 5600 display card with 128 mb ram on it.
Well, the problem started the very next day.When I want to boot up my pc, it just showed me the windows start screen and then went off, the monitor says no cable connection or check your display cable.But I have connected correctly.Now, when I boot up to safe mode, everything works fine.I uninstalled the display driver provided by my display card.Now my Pc boots up ok but without any display driver.
I am not sure whats going on here.But once I install hte driver, it goes off. I am on windows XP and UBUNTU linux.My linux boots up without any problem.
Please help. I think its the display driver confusing Windows.
Don't Hijack other peoples Threads, Start your own.


fidelitycrisis: Do as Trotter suggested, then make sure the the New Video card Is seated Correctly, Make sure that if it needs a molex connector, that it is connected.
Ste is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 06:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default

nope.


it said CMOS defaults loaded and it still doesnt go past the windows load scroll screen.
fidelitycrisis is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 07:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

boot into safe mode and remove the drivers that you installed then install the latest drivers for your onboard graphics. or just do a system restore to before you installed the new card.

If you are seeing the windows screen you were able to go into the bios and turn the onboard back on right?

Edit - ok I think I know what you did. You didn't go into the bios and disable the onboard you just removed the drivers from device manager. So don't worry about pulling the batery you didn't change anything in the bios. So like I said above boot into safe mode.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 03:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default

it wont let me load up in safe mode...


it lists a bunch of things that look like this..


multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\windows\system 32\Mup.sys



then it stops at Mup.sys

and now, instead of stopping at the windows load screen, it stops at a screen right after it that says "setup is being restarted" and freezes there.
fidelitycrisis is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 03:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Do you have your windows XP Disc, If So Boot off of it, Go as if you were installing the OS, it will detect a previous installation, then Hit R which tells it to run a repair.

NOT THE RECOVERY CONSOLE.
Ste is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 03:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default

yea i was just doing that now.


i went to BIOS and changed the boot and booted off the XP disc.


its installing right now




so hopfully this works
fidelitycrisis is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 04:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default

alright! ive got the display back up


but i cant find the drivers for my graphics card

GeForce MX4000 AGP 128MB


does anyone have them?
__________________

fidelitycrisis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.