no device manager - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2007, 06:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default no device manager

i installed win xp, and after clicking the system icon i see theres no hardware tab so no device manager, how can this have happened?

if i click advanced in system it says i must be logged in as system admin, but if i click users it says my name and computer administrator under.
__________________

fuzz is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 06:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Right click on my Computer then click properties. That should bring up your system properties tab. With the hardware tab as well.

If not than it sounds like you got a defunked install.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 06:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

didnt work

but i had much problem installing xp cause of "unmountable_boot_disk", now i want to repair or reinstall but i still get the blue screen of death of "unmountable_boot_disk" when i boot from any win cd.
fuzz is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Can you post a screenshot of this error?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 06:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

in system i got: general > computer name > advanced > system restore > automatic updates

when trying to boot with a windows cd i get a blue screen of death right before the menu where you can install or repair is supposed to come up, so i have to boot with floppy discs to get to dos, then go to d: and install from there.
fuzz is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 06:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

the unmountable boot disk is probably from the cdrive. I have seen perfectly good working cd drives that are 3 or 4 yeard old get the BSOD unmountable boot drive. Try a different drive and re do the install. Is this an OEM or retail version of xp ? is it a burnt copy ?

I think the error was unmountable boot disk 0x000000ed
__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 06:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

i have tried both originals and copies w same fault but never suspected the cd drive, will try another.
fuzz is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 06:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 57
Default

WORKED!

was using a dvd rw, tried an old cd drive and win menu came up no problem :P
__________________

fuzz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.