No Close and Hiss - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2007, 10:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 37
Default No Close and Hiss

Hi,

My PC is being very slow recently and programme freeze randomly i try to end process usally when i do this they close straight away it doesn't now i have to end up logging off. I done loads of scans aswell.

Another problem is when I switch my mic on all I can hear in the background is hissing. I have the boost on. I've never heard it without the hiss, it hasn't all of a sudden happend

Thanks
__________________

TheCase is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 11:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to Liquidtricity
Default

Alright TheCase, I'm going to start with some basic deduction here.

1. What version of Windows are you using?
2. You say randomly, but what type of programs are you trying to work with when these freezes occur (ex. Internet based apps, games, word processing, etc.)
3. You have stated that you have done "scans" what kind of scans have you done, using what scanners, and what if any were the results?
4. Have you checked your error logs? If not and if you need instruction on any of this let me know.

On a different topic related to your MIC. I believe that this has nothing to do with any forms of failure, you just simply have a sensitive pickup which will probably require some tweaking. At the very least try simply adjusting your input volume in the volume control window.
__________________

Liquidtricity is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 08:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 37
Default

Hi There,

I'm using Windows XP. The crashes are on all kind of softwares. I done scans on, CCLEANER, Antispyware (2 antispyware softwares) and anitvirus.

I haven't checked any error logs, I don't really know where to look

Thanks
TheCase is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 08:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 164
Default

control panel
administritive tools
error logs are in there
__________________
Skuzzle - Powered by Badgerbyte Web & IT Services
www.drive4fun.co.uk check it out
Skuzzle is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 10:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to Liquidtricity
Default

Hmm, well, I've filtered out some of the more archaic things that it could be. How long have you had this exact version of windows on your machine without having to reformat? Also what are the hardware specs on your computer. A way to find out is to right click on the 'my computer' icon on the desktop and select the 'properties' menu option. The first tab that should pop up is are processor information and memory stats.
Also please report any information marked in the logs by a white x in a red square. I want to help you but I need the information that these logs/scanners are giving you. Speaking of which, what were the two pieces of spyware that the system found?
Liquidtricity is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.