No buffer space available. -- Socket Error # 10055 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2004, 06:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default No buffer space available. -- Socket Error # 10055

Does anyone know what this error means?
Quote:
Socket Error # 10055
No buffer space available.
It happens every time I use the internet, at various times (1hr - 5hrs), the internet just stalls completely (nothing works). I am on dial-up, but it hasn't done this until recently. The only solution to this is to restart the computer...then it's dandy for another 1-5hrs. Simply reconnecting the internet does not fix it...

The way I got this error message was by using my email client...I searched Google's groups for it, and found a LOT of people had the same problem, but reading through a good part of them, I found no answers...so was thinking that maybe, just maybe, someone here has delt with this/has ideas for it!

Thanks for any/all help!
-X
__________________

__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 06:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Resource problem. Make sure u have enough RAM and virtual memory. It can occur when running too many programs at the same time. It could also be your mailclient, close it (not sure though)
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 06:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default

Thanks for the quick reply. I have 512MB RAM, virtual memory? I've not messed with that, ever. Hm, weird thing is that I've never had this problem in two years...and it happens even when NO program is running [of course, with the exception of AOL] (I just use the mail client to get the error message, it's generally not open). So I'm not sure what it could be...

thanks
any other ideas, anyone
-X
__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 06:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

have u installed anything lately? like a firewall?
maybe its a problem with your mailaccount server
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 09:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default

It's not the mail...all internet applications die. From the computer games, the web browser, the email, the instant messenger...etc. Nope, haven't installed anything lately, besides the TV Tuner (I don't see how that could conflict)...:-/
__________________
Vormund is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.