Nlite - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2005, 02:17 AM   #31 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
wrong thread horndude?
No, not really, you'd be suprised at the similarities between different OS's, a computer is a computer. Im just poking around learning stuff about windows. Alot of things are the same, just different names and a slightly different way of doing the same thing.

Its been awhile since Ive used windows, quit in 2000 and was using win98 then, it had the same headaches it has now it seems, reinstalls were a regular thing, that and buggy video drivers.
__________________

horndude is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 02:18 AM   #32 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

depending on how you use your os, it can be fine for you for years but not me....
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 02:23 AM   #33 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
yea but its fun to me. plus i like to have a sleek and clean os for about 2 months at the longest..
how big is a basic windowXP install these days?1GB, 2GB, more?Less?

I know win98 was like 240mb plus another 300mb minimum just to be able to most average things, how big has it gotten? A full boat linux install with 7 browsers, 6 or 7 window managers(GUI's) and apps to do everything runs about 3GB these days, which I think is crazy, but thats just me probably.

2 months !!!? Oh gawd, that would get old quick, I leave my machines on for years or until a power failure happens LOL.
horndude is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 02:26 AM   #34 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

1.39gb with SP2 integrated
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 02:28 AM   #35 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what the hell...yea right....its 582mb....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 02:30 AM   #36 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

if I went to your machine if you had xp, I would find something wrong, fix it, then reinstall it for the hell of it. what else am i gonna do at 2 in the morning?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 02:33 AM   #37 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
if I went to your machine if you had xp, I would find something wrong, fix it, then reinstall it for the hell of it. what else am i gonna do at 2 in the morning?
that's how I learned to fix computers
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 02:37 AM   #38 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

dont worry, thats pretty universal, I like to tinker and fix stuff that may or may not be broken at the time too best way to learn is hands on

I spent 3hrs today trying to find out why one freakin app wasnt working right when I upgraded it to the latest and greatest only to find out it was one stupid little switch I didnt set when I recompiled one of its dependencies.........shyte happens sometimes
horndude is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 02:45 AM   #39 (permalink)
Not A Super Techie
 
straightv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 496
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
that's how I learned to fix computers
why re-install if you fixed the problem?
__________________
1 fast and 1 slow
straightv6 is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 02:52 AM   #40 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Talking

just for the hell of it...
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.