newbie wanting to speed up pc? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2005, 09:07 AM   #11 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Systems specs are...
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 12:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

re-install
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 02:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 30
Default

hello again,

thanks for the info about msconfig......when i uncheck the unwanted startup files,click apply and reboot, the files are still starting up????
thanks in advance
maverick25 is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 07:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

OK, what files?

Try this. Give your computer the three finger salute (Ctrl + Alt + Delete) to open Task Manager. Click the Applications tab, look at what programs are running. If you didn't start them, then they are aither still checked in the System Configuration Utility (msconfig), or the program has an option somewhere in it that tells it to start up with Windows. If you have unchecked it but it returns, open it up and look for this option, then uncheck it.

As for other things you can do...

Uninstall any old programs you don't use. Go into your C: drive and delete the folder left behind, if any. Then go to MajorGeeks.com and download TweakNow (http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4134.html). Run it. Tell it to delete everything that it says can be safely delete. Leave everything that it says can't be deleted safely. Look at the ones it is unsure about. If the entry belongs to an uninstalled application, chuck it.

After you have cleaned out the old, click Start, All Programs, Accessories, System Tools, Disk Cleanup. Let it find what it can, then check the entries and let it clean them out.

Now, since you have taken care of some housecleaning and nixing old unused space hogs, you need to defrag your hard drive. Before you start, turn off your screen saver and every other running program (besides Windows)...use the Task Manager to be sure. Click Start All Programs, Accessories, System Tools, Disk Defragmentor. Have it Analyze your hard drive so it can tell you if it needs to be defragged (probably will though). Then tell it to Defragment your hard drive.

How much RAM (memory) does your computer have? If you don't have enough, your computer can bog down really easily.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 08:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Hahah. Defrag or Ctrl+Alt+Del get rid of unnecessary background running programs..
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 08:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

How's that funny? :S
ApM is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 08:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

I dunno. I am trying to be basic enough for Maverick.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.