new windows xp pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2004, 07:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
Question new windows xp pro

I am considering buying windows xp pro but have been told that i can only use the disk on one machine, the problem is I have four and want to do all of them. Is this true and if so is there a way around it. I will be grateful for any help

laclan2 is offline  
Old 02-22-2004, 09:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 154

I have installed and use my win XP pro on several machine already and found no problem with it. just give it a try though and post here any error mesage or problem you will encounter if you will install it on several machine. just dont register for Mr. Bill not to track you down that easy.
If you have a branded machines with the same company. say Dell, you dont have any prob installing it on several Dell PC.
Anyway, just give it a try. You aint ganna lose your bucks since you can easily crack that.



-- Make This World a Better Place to live In... Care for all the Living --
Press_F1 is offline  
Old 02-22-2004, 11:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333

Ohh, Doesn't XP force you to register after about 30 days or so by locking you out so that you have to call support and register?
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 02-22-2004, 11:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287

You dont got to register but you do got to let you OS contact microsoft.It check's the number but you dont need to give any info.

After you reinstall an operating system guessing 20 times.It send's an alert to MS to have you call them and find out why you reinstalling this XP so much.Then your stuck cause everytime you reenstall you got to call and explain.

You can keep 1 puter as your base and reinstall Xp every 30 day's on the other 3.You can also get a multi computer thing from microsoft so you can put XP on all 4 but it cost.Is a way to hack XP but dont know it.

I just split a drive C and D and try to keep important stuff on D and wipe C every month.
Deadguy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.