new windows installation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2005, 12:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 53
Default new windows installation

I have a windows installation with some issues. I am using windows XP pro. I cant boot from the drive, but I can boot from the XP cd and get into the windows installation/repair options. When I try to repair the current installation, the system crashes.

My real question, I guess, is if I do a new windows installation on the same drive, will I lose all of my data? I'm trying to do anything I can to keep my data.

any help or input will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
__________________

Nevermore is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 01:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Default

"I guess, is if I do a new windows installation on the same drive, will I lose all of my data? I'm trying to do anything I can to keep my data"

What actually u lookup....Uninstalling the current OS and then reinstalling it????Well,upto my understanding,I should say that no datas will be lost unless u format any drive;but ur aplications wont work anymore in the new install.

Here I must tell u that installing 2 OS(especially XP) will reduce the performance greatly and the chance for crashing is more.
__________________

micheal is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 01:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

Back up your data, and do a format, install.
IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 12:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 53
Default

I wish i could back-up. The windows installation is damaged and I cant get into it. When I try to let the windows cd repair the installation it just crashes.
Nevermore is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 12:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

you may have to take the drive out and put it into another machine that is working. Baring that go out get another harddrive, install windows on that one and slave the old one in so you can copy the data over.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 11:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 71
Default

Had that happen to me, turns out it my memory was shot. It could be that or some other type of system instability. Try running memtest for a while and see if anything comes up.
Shibby is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 04:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 59
Default

could get the data off using a bootable OS...
This would allow you to browse the drives and get the data off
(could use either linux or windows bootable os'es)
Linux is easier as you can easily download a bootable distro
__________________

__________________
Quote:

Spammers should all be collected on an island and forced to try and sell stuff to each other. They should not coexist with the rest of the world, they are the lowest form of life!
Lintal is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.